You are here

Collaborative program in Nanotechnology

Nanotechnology

The University of Waterloo offers the first MASc and PhD programs in Nanotechnology of its kind in Canada. The interdisciplinary research program, jointly offered by three departments in the Faculty of Science and four in the Faculty of Engineering, provide students with a stimulating educational environment that spans from basic research through to application. The goal of the collaborative program is to allow students to gain perspectives on nanotechnology from a wide community of scholars within and outside their disciplines in both course and thesis work.

The MASc collaborative program provides a strong foundation in the emerging areas of nano-engineering in preparation for the workforce or for further graduate study and research leading to a doctoral degree. Four key areas of research strengths have been identified: nanomaterials, nano-electronics design and fabrication, nano-instruments and devices, and nano-biosystems. The objective of the PhD program is to prepare students for careers in academia, industrial R & D and government research labs.

Admission requirements

Admission requirements are the same as those for MASc and PhD in Mechanical Engineering.

Degree requiremen​ts

The MASc program requirements are:

  • four half credit (0.5) courses including two required core courses and two elective courses from the approved list,
  • original research thesis, and
  • nanotechnology seminar graded on a Credit/Non-Credit basis

For the PhD program, students who are admitted with an appropriate masters degree must complete:

  • three half credit (0.5) courses including two required core courses and one elective course from the approved list,
  • a PhD Comprehensive Examination,
  • nanotechnology seminar graded on a Credit/Non-Credit basis, and
  • an original research dissertation

Students admitted with an appropriate honours bachelor’s degree or who transfer directly from a masters program to the PhD program must complete:

  • seven half credit (0.5) courses including two required core courses and five elective courses from the approved list,
  • a PhD Comprehensive Examination,
  • nanotechnology seminar graded on a Credit/Non-Credit basis, and
  • an original research dissertation

Core courses

Core courses are designed to provide the base knowledge and skill set required to prepare students for more specialized courses and to conduct interdisciplinary nanoscale research. Generally, students are required to take two core courses and complete the Nanotechnology seminar. All core courses will have written examinations.

The two required core courses are:

  • NANO 701: Fundamentals of Nanotechnology (0.5 credit)
  • NANO 702: Nanotechnology Tools (0.5 credit)

See the updated list of approved technical elective courses.

Exemptions

Students who have completed their BASc degree in Nanotechnology Engineering or Masters degree in Nanotechnology at the University of Waterloo will not be required to take the two core courses. Instead, they can choose all graduate courses from the prescribed list of electives.

Nanotechnology seminar

This seminar is a forum for student presentation of research results or proposals. Invited speakers from academia and industry will also present results of research from time to time. The range of topics that will be addressed in the seminar crosses all areas of research in the collaborative program. Each student is required to present at least one research seminar. To receive credit, students are required to attend at least eight seminars other than their own before completing their program.

Apply for the c​ollaborative program in nanotechnology

Interested students should apply online.

For more information, please contact Connie Slaughter.

Faculty Advisors/Thesis Supervisors

Name Phone Office e-mail
Brezinski, Andrew 31480 E5 3013 andrew.brzezinski@uwaterloo.ca
Culham, Richard 33839 CPH 3606 culham@uwaterloo.ca
Esmaeili, Shahrzad 37536 E5 3016 shahrzad@uwaterloo.ca
Inal, Kaan 38114 E2 2354H kinal@uwaterloo.ca
Jahed,  Hamid 37826 E5 3047 hjahed@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca
Li, Dongqing 38682 PRC 2008 dongqing@mme.uwaterloo.ca
Mayer, Michael 84024 E5 3009 mmayer@uwaterloo.ca
Nieva, Patricia 37786 E3 4106 pnieva@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca
Ren, Carolyn 33030 CPH 3668 c3ren@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca
Sullivan, Pearl 84522 E5 3027 mechair@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca
Toyserkani, Ehsan 37560 E3 3151 ehsan.toyserkani@uwaterloo.ca
Varin, Robert 32170 PRC 2007 ravarin@engmail.uwaterloo.ca
Wen, John 38362 PRC 2003 jzwen@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca
Yavuz, Mustafa 32093 E5 3011 myavuz@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca
Zhou, Norman 36095 E5 3007 nzhou@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca