You are here

Chancellor of the University of Waterloo

Tom Jenkins

The Chancellor is the ceremonial head of the University of Waterloo.

The Chancellor presides over Convocation ceremonies every June and October and awards all degrees, diplomas and certificates, including honorary degrees.

The Chancellor addresses graduands and inspires them at these ceremonies.

The current Chancellor is Tom Jenkins, whose term began on 1 May 2015.

Nominations for Waterloo’s Next Chancellor are now open

The Chancellor Nominating Committee seeks nominations of individuals of outstanding calibre who will be strong champions for the University of Waterloo, all members of the University community, and the University’s academic and research mission.

Any member of the University community/alumni is invited to send nominations to Karen Jack, Secretary to the Chancellor Nominating Committee, at The deadline for nominations is 4:00 p.m. on Friday 27 April 2018. All nominations will be kept confidential.

Based on the recommendation of the Chancellor Nominating Committee, the University of Waterloo’s Senate elects the Chancellor for a three-year term, with the option of re-election for one additional term.