



# Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology (CBB) University of Waterloo



# **Advisory Board**

### **Terms of Reference**

Updated: September 29, 2016

As a senate approved research Centre at the University of Waterloo, the Centre for Bioengineering and Biotechnology (CBB) relies upon the best and most up-to-date information, knowledge and advice to support its overall mission. The founding Advisory Board (AB) was established on June 26, 2014 as a means to obtain knowledge, objective advice and guidance from other academic institutions, industry and government in areas relevant to the Centre.

## Membership

- The AB should be comprised of representatives from other academic institutions, industry and government reflecting the diversity of inter- and trans-disciplinary research the CBB fosters and supports.
- Members are selected for the excellence of their expertise and leadership in their respective fields.
- The size of the AB should be typically between eight (8) to fifteen (15) members.
- Advisory Board members are nominated by the Operations Committee and confirmed by the Board of Directors.
- The AB Chair is the Associate Vice President, University Research, University of Waterloo or his or her delegate.
- The CBB Director is an ex-officio member of the AB.

#### Mandate

- The AB's mandate is to provide advice and recommendations to the CBB Director, Associate Directors, and the CBB Operations Committee.
- AB members provide an ongoing exchange of information between industry and CBB, help promote CBB and communicate the Centre's activities to industry, government, the research community, the university and the public.

#### Meetings

- The AB should meet once or twice annually.
- One meeting per year should be held at the University of Waterloo and AB members are encouraged to attend in person, but the opportunity for attendance at the meeting by telephone or internet will be provided whenever possible.
- Advisory Board meetings are open to the Director and Associate Directors of CBB and the Operations Committee of CBB. CBB staff may also be present at the Advisory Board meetings to receive feedback and ideas, and ensure the operation of the meeting.
- Minutes from the Advisory Board meetings will be distributed to the Advisory Board and the Operations Committee within one month from the date of the meeting.

#### **Terms**

- The AB Founding Members were appointed for an initial period of three (3) years. The list of founding members is provided in the Appendix.
- At the end of the initial three year term, AB members may be re-appointed to two- or three-year terms.
- Appointments to the AB and subsequent renewals will be reviewed and approved by the CBB Operations Committee.
- New members may be invited to an initial term up to 3 years.
- Approximately one-third of AB seats should turn over each year.

## **Appendix: Founding Advisory Board Members**

Established March 2014

Ex-officio	Burns	Catherine	Dr.	Director, Centre for	University of Waterloo
				Bioengineering and Biotechnology	
Member	Cotter	Frank	Dr.	VP, Mobile Computing	BlackBerry
Member	D'Amore	Tony	Dr.	VP, Product R&D - Global	Sanofi Pasteur
Member	Dowd	Jason	Dr.	Director, Product Development,	Apotex
				Biopharmaceuticals	
Member	Fitzgerald	Fiona	Ms.	Zone Leader, Life Sciences Canada	GE Healthcare
Member	Foody	Brian	Mr.	President and CEO	IOGEN
Member	Garcia	Luis	Mr.	Chair, Institute of Food Processing	Conestoga College
				Technology	
Member	Gerson	Donald	Dr.	President and CEO	PnuVax SL Biopharmaceuticals,
					Inc.
Member	Higgs	Gary	Mr.	Integrated Chief Information	St. Mary's and Grand River
				Officer	Hospitals
Member	Karlsson	Tim	Mr.	Director, Emerging Technologies	Industry Canada
				Directorate	
Member	Moo-Young	Murray	Dr.	Distinguished Professor Emeritus,	University of Waterloo
				Chemical Engineering	
Member	Pinho	George	Dr.	President	Christie Medical Division
Member	Thompson	John	Dr.	Associate Vice-President Research,	University of Waterloo
& Board				University Research	
Chair					