Information for

External Teaching Awards

External awards offer recipients the unique opportunity to contribute to broad educational change through participation in cross-disciplinary educational conferences and forums. The five awards listed below are well recognized in Canada and beyond. Each award program seeks to honour outstanding instructors and to raise the profile of excellence in teaching.


Alan Blizzard Award: A biennial award recognizing collaborative teaching initiatives.

Reimagine Education Awards: A series of annual awards with multiple categories, including teaching delivery, innovation in hybrid learning, and more. 

D2L Innovation Award: An annual award recognizing innovative approaches to teaching with a flexible definition of innovation.

OCUFA Teaching Award: An annual provincial award recognizing Ontario’s exemplary instructors who are also educational scholars and leaders.

3M National Teaching Fellowship: An annual national award recognizing Canada’s exemplary instructors who are also educational scholars and leaders.

Looking for support? Contact Lisa Kabesh, Communications Associate, CTE.

Nomination deadlines

It can be difficult to determine which award is the right fit for a nominee or nominees. Click on one of the following pathways to navigate the five external award programs.  

Waterloo external award recipients, 1980-Present 

Year Name Faculty Award
2017 Steven Bednarski Arts D2L
2017 Gordon Stubley Engineering 3M
2016  Carol Hulls Engineering D2L
2012 Robert Sproule Arts D2L
2010 Alan Morgan Environment 3M
2009 Gordon Stubley Engineering OCUFA
2004 Howard Armitage Arts 3M
2004 Jean Andrey Environment OCUFA
2000 Ronald George Scoins Mathematics OCUFA
1993 Phyllis Forsyth Arts OCUFA
1987  Donald Irish Science OCUFA
1986 Ralph Krueger Environment 3M

More resources

Writing Winning Nominations  Reflections on successful academic award nominations by Cathy Matthews and Andrea Buchholz (PDF)

Effective Letters for Teaching Award Nominations, a CTE Blog post by Trevor Holmes

The CTE Blog