You are here


Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Waterloo’s winning iGEM team recruiting for the 2017 competition

Waterloo iGEM logo.

There’s nothing like a winning tradition: last year’s Gold Medal standing at the 2016 International Jamboree was Waterloo’s fourth straight annual win at a competition that attracts more than 270 teams from 42 countries.

Monday, December 5, 2016

Professor Pierre-Nicholas Roy highlighted at national funding announcement

John Thompson, Bettina Hamelin, Pierre-Nicholas Roy, Cameron Stewart, John Turri, James Craig, David Blowes, MP Bardish Chagger

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) program has awarded more than $11 million to the University of Waterloo. The Honourable Bardish Chagger, Minister of Small Business and Tourism, and member of parliament for Waterloo, made the announced Friday at Waterloo’s Science Teaching Complex on behalf of the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science.

Friday, August 26, 2016

Waterloo chemists develop promising cheap, sustainable grid energy storage

windmill and solar panels

Waterloo chemists have developed a safe, high-capacity zinc-ion battery that costs half the price of current lithium-ion batteries, yet lasts twice as long.

Thursday, August 11, 2016

Marcel Nooijen joins elite international quantum molecular society

Marcel Nooijen

Professor Marcel Nooijen was elected last month to the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences (IAQMS) for his work in theoretical chemistry. He is the fourth Canadian to join this prestigious academy, three of whom are affiliated with the University of Waterloo: Professors Josef Paldus, Jiri Cizek and now Nooijen.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Tadeusz Gorecki awarded Polish Academy of Sciences medal

Tadeusz Gorecki

Last month, Professor Tadeusz Gorecki was awarded the 2016 Professor Andrzej Waksmundzki medal by the Committee on Analytical Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Sciences in recognition for his contributions to the field of separation sciences.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Graduate student Hanieh Farkhondeh Borazjani receives the Don E. Irish Graduate Award

Congratulations to Hanieh Farkhondeh Borazjani, a graduate student with Tong Leung, who has been awarded the Don E. Irish Graduate Award by the Department of Chemistry.

Friday, June 17, 2016

Prominent Waterloo chemist appointed University Professor at Spring Convocation

The University of Waterloo honoured Canada Research Chair Linda Nazar with the title University Professor at this year’s Spring Convocation for her outstanding career achievements in Solid State Materials and advanced battery research.

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

CCUCC Chemistry Doctoral Award presented to chemistry grad Stephen Winter

Congratulations to Stephen Winter (pictured in the photo, right, with his supervisor, Waterloo chemistry professor Richard Oakley) who was presented with the 2016 CCUCC Chemistry Doctoral Award at the Canadian Society for Chemistry Conference held Jun 5-9, 2016 in Halifax, NS.

Monday, June 13, 2016

Winter term 2016 teaching assistant award winners

We wish to acknowledge the outstanding efforts and achievements of the following Winter 2016 TA Award winners.

Graduate students

Caroline Allen
Braden Kralt
Mike Piazza
Justen Poole
Serxho Selmani
Natalie Sisombath
Robert Taylor
Richard Tran
Luke Vanderzwet

​Undergraduate students

Artur Pajda
Dalia Naser

The very positive attitude and teaching skills of these individuals have considerable impact on enhancing the reputation of our undergraduate programs. 

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

GWC2 Award Winners Announced

The Guelph-Waterloo Centre for Graduate Work in Chemistry and Biochemistry (GWC)2 Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the following awards:

Bruker BioSpin Graduate Scholarship
Saurabh Srivastava

​R.G. Goel Memorial Graduate Scholarship
Emily Carlson

David Holden Memorial Scholarship
Adam Maahs

Charles S. Humphrey Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry
Kaila Fadock

  1. 2017 (1)
    1. January (1)
  2. 2016 (21)
    1. December (1)
    2. August (3)
    3. July (1)
    4. June (3)
    5. May (3)
    6. April (2)
    7. February (4)
    8. January (4)
  3. 2015 (31)
    1. December (1)
    2. November (3)
    3. October (2)
    4. September (3)
    5. July (4)
    6. June (7)
    7. May (1)
    8. April (5)
    9. February (4)
    10. January (1)
  4. 2014 (18)
  5. 2013 (10)
  6. 2012 (9)