Executive Director

The Centre is led by an Executive Director who reports to the Vice-President of University Research and the Dean of Environment. The Director is responsible for the overall management of the Centre, the preparation of its annual budget, the supervision of Centre employees, and guiding the research agenda of the Centre, with input from its membership and other stakeholders.

Dr. Daniel Scott is the current Executive Director of IC3.


Natalie Heldsinger is IC3's Communications and Research Coordinator. Natalie's work is focused on coordinating the Centre's communications strategy and projects. 

Interns and co-op students also provide valuable research and administrative capacity to IC3:

  • Fall 2016 - Mersedeh Abedi
  • Spring 2016 - Jordan Blake
  • Winter 2016 - Michelle Gordon
  • Spring 2015 - Alex Cadel
  • Winter 2015 - Andrea Minano   
  • Spring 2014 - Suzanne Perdeaux


IC3 membership has more than doubled since its inception and expanded representation across departments, reflecting the deepening and broadening scope of climate change research at Waterloo.

Today, IC3's 71 affiliated faculty members represent 18 departments and schools across all 6 faculties at Waterloo, 3 on-campus climate research groups (Partners for Action, Intact Centre on Climate Adaptation, Canadian Cryospheric Information Network), and 5 external organizations (Wilfrid Laurier University, Balsillie School of International Affairs, Centre for International Governance Innovation, Environment and Climate Change Canada, Natural Resources Canada).

If you are interested in becoming affiliated with IC3, please contact us