Rob Danisch.

Robert Danisch

Chair, Associate Professor
rdanisch@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 38603
Location: ML 236B

Robert Danisch has a PhD in Communication from the University of Pittsburgh (2004) and a BA from the University of Virginia in History and Philosophy.

Andy Houston

Andrew Houston

Associate Professor

houston@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 37029
Location: ML 119B

Andy Houston earned his BA in Drama and Sociology from the University of Guelph (1989), where he was awarded a College of Arts Medal.

Professor Shana MacDonald

Shana MacDonald

Associate Professor

shana.macdonald@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 35157
Location: ML 234

Dr. Shana MacDonald is Associate Professor in Communication Arts and the current President of the Film Studies Association of Canada.

Anders Bergstrom

Lecturer

ajbergstrom@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 37955
Location: ML 309

Anders is a film and media scholar, with a background in literature, composition, and critical theory.

waist to head shot of Paul Cegys

Paul Cegys

Lecturer

pcegys@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 37911
Location: ML 129

Paul Cegys’ work merges multiple practices of performance creation and design, from theatre and opera to site-specific installation and intermedial VR/MR scenographies.

KC Collins

KC Collins

Associate Professor

collinsk@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 38326
Location: ECH 2112

KC Collins’ research focuses on  sound and music in technology, and explores how new technologies impact our auditory experience. This research has included studies of sound on smart tables (horizontal computers), mobile phones, video games, and slot machines.

photo of Kevin Carey

Kevin Carey

Lecturer

kcarey@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 ext. 36820
Location: ML 240

Kevin is an interdisciplinary teacher-scholar (English/Rhetoric PhD, Russian Literature MA, Philosophy BA) whose work focuses on higher education and its discontents.

photo of Jordana Cox

Jordana Cox

Assistant Professor

j8cox@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 36809
Location: ML 243

My scholarship bridges communication studies, performance history, and the public humanities.

Shannon Hartling

Shannon Hartling

Lecturer

shartling@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 38997
Location: ML 257B


Shannon Hartling has a PhD in English (2003) and an MA and BA in English from the University of Waterloo.

David Janzen

Lecturer

david.janzen@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 33383
Location: ML 308

David Janzen’s teaching and research takes an interdisciplinary approach to environmental and science communication, cultural and decolonial studies, and crisis theory.

Naila Keleta-Mae

Naila Keleta-Mae

Associate Professor

nailakm@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 31198
Location: ML 131

Naila Keleta-Mae holds a PhD in Theatre Studies (York University), an MFA in Theatre (York University) and a BA with distinction (Concordia University).

Sarah Klein

Assistant Professor
sarah.klein@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 38477
Location: ML 254A  

Sarah’s research centers on how methods travel across time and space.

Sorouja Moll

Sorouja Moll

Lecturer

smoll@uwaterloo.ca
(519)888-4567, ext. 31985
ML 238

Sorouja Moll has a PhD in Humanities (Concordia) specializing in the fields of Communication, English, and Art History.

Lennart Nacke

Lennart Nacke

Associate Professor

lennart.nacke@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 37822
Location: ML 239

Professor Nacke teaches User Experience, Human-Computer Interaction, and Game Design at the University of Waterloo.

Kim Nguyen

Kim Nguyen

Associate Professor
kim.h.nguyen@uwaterloo.ca (519) 888-4567 x. 39152 Location: ML 236A  
Tim Paci.

Tim Paci

Associate Chair, Undergraduate Communication Outcomes Initiative- Lecturer

tppaci@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 38494
Location: ML 254B

Tim Paci has taught in Communication Arts at the University of Waterloo since his days as a graduate student in the 1990s.

Knee to head shot of Jennifer Roberts-Smith in a leather jacket

Jennifer Roberts-Smith

Associate Professor

jennifer.roberts-smith@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 ext. 35785
Location: ML 119C 

Dr. Jennifer Roberts-Smith (PhD, Toronto) is an award-winning artist-researcher, whose transdisciplinary, design-based work explores performance, digital media, history, education, and social justice.

Glenn Stillar.

Glenn Stillar

Associate Professor

gstillar@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 37836
Location: ECH 2102

Professor Glenn Stillar is an Associate Professor in the Digital Arts Communication program in the Faculty of Arts, University of Waterloo.

Henry Adam Svec

Assistant Professor
henry.adam.svec@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 36432
Location: ML 205

Henry Adam Svec holds a PhD and an MA in Media Studies from the University of Western Ontario and a BA in English Literature from Mount Allison University.

Imre Szeman

Imre Szeman

Professor

iszeman@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 37621 
Location: ML 241

Imre Szeman holds a PhD in Literature (Duke University), an MA in Theory and Criticism (University of Western Ontario) and a BA in Philosophy (Queen’s University).

gerald voorhees

Gerald Voorhees

Associate Chair, Undergraduate Advisor For Speech Communication - Associate Professor

gerald.voorhees@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 38691
Location: ML ML 257A 

Gerald Voorhees earned a Ph.D. from The University of Iowa (2008) and holds a B.S. in Speech Communication from the University of Texas at Austin, where he was a Senior Fellow in the Honors Program of the College of Communication.

Vershawn Young

Professor

vershawn.young@uwaterloo.ca
(519)888-4567, ext 31596
Location: ML 232A

Dr. Vay is a scholar and teacher of African American communication, law, literacy, literature and performance.

Aynur Kadir

Assistant Professor

akadir@uwaterloo.ca
(519) 888-4567 x. 37301
Location: ML 304

Dr. Aynur Kadir earned her Ph.D. in 2018 from Making Culture Lab, School of Interactive Arts and Technology at Simon Fraser University.

Profiles by type