Spring Awakening PosterBy Frank Wedekind

Directed by: Darlene Spencer

Performances: March 15-18, 2000

Venue: Theatre of the Arts, Modern                Languages Building


The Iron Warrior Press Release (1999)

Spring Awakening, written in 1890-1 is based, according to its author, on his own experiences at school and was written spontaneously and independently of any theatrical model. ‘I started to write,’ Wedekind tells us, ‘without any sort of plan, merely aiming to set down whatever appealed to me. The plan emerged after the third scene and was complied from my own personal experiences or the experiences of my class-mates.’ The story of the play features the suicide of a pupil who fails to cope with the exacting academic standards of his school, and the death of an innocent schoolgirl at the hands of a back-street abortionist, the victim of her own ignorance and her mother’s prudery. Spring Awakening shocked the contemporary public, and it may well still startle audiences today with its scenes of pubescent angst, sexual outpokeness and its frank representation of adolescent love- both hetero- and homosexual. The play was banned in Berlin in 1912, but its supporters found an unexpected ally in an enlightened judge of the Administrative Court who lifted the ban, and whose assessment of the play’s merit is still valid, although the social circumstances which gave rise to it may have altered radically. ‘The play,’ he wrote, ‘shows how the forces of real life affect innocent young people at the age of puberty, with particular reference to their own incipient sexuality and the demands made on them by life, and especially by their schooling. They perish in the ensuing conflict, because their appointed mentors, their parents and teachers, fail to guide them with proper understanding, because they are prudish and lacking in worldly wisdom…’


Wendla Bergman - Erin Brandenburg

Frau Bergman - Stephanie Morson

Melchior Gabor - Chris Goddard

Otto / Ruprecht - Rob Bannerman

Moritz Steifel - Andy Trithardt

Georg / Gaston - Dave Grant

Ernst Robel / Helmuth - Jef Gagnon

Hansilow / Diethelm - Trevor Copp

Martha Bessel - Natalie Herr

Thea - Stacey Bartlett

Professor Knuppledick (Thickstick) - Daryl Kropf

Professor Hungergurt (Gutgrinder) - John Maiorano

Frau Gabor - Emily Boutet

Ilse - Indrani Margolih

Professor Habebald (Apelard) - Tyler Brent

Professor Sonnenstich (Sunstroke) - Graham Williams

Professor Fliegentod (Flyswatter) - Nicholas Cummings

Pastor Kahlbauch / Herr Gabor - Brad Goddard

Professor Zungenschlag (Tongguetwister) / Herr Steifel - Paul Moukperian

Dr. Brausepulver (Lemonade) - Bill Lee

Ina - Jen Waescher

Creative Team

Director – Darlene Spencer

Assistant Director – Emily Boutet

Set & Lighting Design – Robin Paterson

Costume Design – Jocelyne Sobeski

Sound Design – Greg Leclair

​Assistant to Designers – Rob Paul. Jenna Pollard

Production Team

Director of Production – William Chesney

Technical Director/ Theatre of the Arts – Scott Spidell

Stage Manager – Terri Lynn Harvel

Assistant Stage Managers – Julie Blake, Chris Lee, Erica McNiece

Student Production Manager – Stephen Bailey

Head of Lighting – Jenna Pollard

Lighting Crew – Frank Canino, Raj Gill, Natalie Herr, Jen Waescher

Head of Wardrobe – Elizabeth Almeida

Wardrobe Crew – Jef Gagnon, Stacey Bartlett, Joanne Cope

Head of Carpentry/ Scenic Painting – Fredrik Oerling

Carpentry Crew – Raj Gill, Roberto Machado, Mia Praught

Head of Properties – Trevor Copp

Sound Board Operator – Roison Bonner

Sound Crew – Dave Grant

Head of Publicity – Joyce Hahn

Publicity/ Front of House Assistant – Mia Praught

House Manager/ Theatre of the Arts – Terri-Lynn Harvel

Special Thanks

Mark Feeney

Gary Spencer

Stratford Festival Theatre