Data Science and Machine Learning profiles

Chris Bauch

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: cbauch@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Mathematical Biology, Dynamical Systems, Applications of Machine Leaning to Ecology, Infectious Diseases and Sustainability

Link to Profile: Chris Bauch

Shai Ben-David

School of Computer Science

Email: shai@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Foundations of computer science and its applications, with a particular emphasis on statistical and computational machine learning

Link to Profile: Shai Ben-David

Yuri Boykov

School of Computer Science

Email: yboykov@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Computer vision and biomedical image analysis with focus on modeling and optimization for structured segmentation, restoration, registration, stereo, motion, model fitting, recognition, photo-video editing and other data analysis problems

Link to Profile: Yuri Boykov

Dan Brown

School of Computer Science

Email: dan.brown@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Understanding of sequential data, joining ideas from evolutionary theory with probabilistic modeling and discrete mathematical ideas

Link to Profile: Dan Brown

Hans De Sterck

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email:  hans.desterck@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Large-scale scientific computing, Multilevel numerical linear algebra methods, Numerical methods for PDEs, Novel platforms for scientific computing including GPUs and clouds, Computational fluid dynamics

Link to Profile: Hans De Sterck

Kimon Fountoulakis

School of Computer Science

Email: kimon.fountoulakis@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Algorithms for convex optimization with applications in machine learning problems such as local graph clustering, community detection, regression and classification

Link to Profile: Kimon Fountoulakis

Vijay Ganesh

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Email: vganesh@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Boolean SAT and SMT solvers, theorem provers, solvers for combinatorial mathematics, foundations of mathematics, complexity theory

Link to Profile: Vijay Ganesh

Ali Ghodsi

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: ali.ghodsi@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Machine learning, Big data, Deep learning, Unsupervised learning, Dimensionality reduction

Link to Profile: Ali Ghodsi

Roberto Guglielmi

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: roberto.guglielmi@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Control of finite and infinite dimensional systems, optimization with PDE-constraints, model predictive control, stability of dynamical systems and feedback controls, and applications to finance and natural sciences

Link to Profile: Roberto Guglielmi

Jesse Hoey

School of Computer Science

Email: jesse.hoey@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Artificial intelligence, affective computing, and health informatics

Link to Profile: Jesse Hoey

Anita Layton

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: anita.layton@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Mathematical Biology and Medicine

Link to Profile: Anita Layton

Yuying Li

School of Computer Science

Email: yuying@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Design, analysis and application of computational algorithms for continuous optimization problems and, more generally, problems in scientific computing

Link to Profile: Yuying Li

Wayne Oldford

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: rwoldford@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Statistical reasoning, exploratory data analysis, data visualization, and the development of interactive computational environments that support these activities

Link to Profile: Wayne Oldford

Pascal Poupart

School of Computer Science

Email: ppoupart@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Artificial intelligence and more precisely in the areas of reasoning under uncertainty and machine learning, with application to health informatics and natural language processing

Link to Profile: Pascal Poupart

Greg Rice

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: grice@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Functional Data Analysis, Time Series Analysis, Change Point Analysis, Panel Data, and Central Limit Theory for Stationary Processes

Link to Profile: Greg Rice

Matthias Schonlau

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: schonlau@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Applied survey sampling and survey methodology, machine learning from text data such as open-ended questions as well as software implementation of his research

Link to Profile: Matthias Schonlau

Marek Stastna

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: mmstastn@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Stratified fluid dynamics in lakes and the coastal oceans, The climate dynamics, Wave dynamics in porous media

Link to Profile: Marek Stastna

Stefan Steiner

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: shsteiner@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Business and industrial statistics focusing on process improvement

Link to Profile: Stefan Steiner

Ken Seng Tan

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: kstan@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Intersection of actuarial science, finance, mathematics, and statistics

Link to Profile: Ken Seng Tan

Giang Tran

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: giang.tran@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Sparse Modeling and Sparse Optimization Methods, Data Science, Image Processing and Medical Imaging, Compressed Sensing

Link to Profile: Giang Tran

Stephen Vavasis

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: vavasis@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Continuous optimization and numerical analysis

Link to Profile: Stephen Vavasis

Olga Veksler

School of Computer Science

Email: oveksler@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Visual correspondence (stereo, motion) and image segmentation

Link to Profile: Olga Veklser

Yaoliang Yu

School of Computer Science

Email: yaoliang.yu@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Machine learning, statistics, and optimization, with applications in computer vision and multimedia

Link to Profile: Yaoliang Yu

Mu Zhu

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: m3zhu@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Statistical machine learning and multivariate analysis, with their applications in health informatics, bioinformatics, and data mining

Link to Profile: Mu Zhu

Yeying Zhu

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: yeying.zhu@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Causal inference, machine learning, mediation analysis and variable selection/dimension reduction.

Link to Profile: Yeying Zhu