Computational Biology and Medicine profiles

Gladimir Baranoski

School of Computer Science

Email: gvgbaranoski@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Predictive simulation of light interactions with organic materials and the biophysically-based rendering of natural phenomena

Link to Profile: Gladimir Baranoski

Chris Bauch

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: cbauch@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Mathematical Biology, Dynamical Systems, Applications of Machine Leaning to Ecology, Infectious Diseases and Sustainability

Link to Profile: Chris Bauch

Dan Brown

School of Computer Science

Email: dan.brown@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Understanding of sequential data, joining ideas from evolutionary theory with probabilistic modeling and discrete mathematical ideas

Link to Profile: Dan Brown

Sue Ann Campbell

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: sacampbe@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Computational models of biological neural networks, pattern formation in coupled oscillator networks with time delay, numerical bifurcation analysis

Link to Profile: Sue Ann Campbell

David Del Rey Fernandez

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email:ddelreyfernandez@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Numerical simulation of PDEs, Mathematically robust schemes, Summation-by-parts methods, Continuous and discontinuous Galerkin schemes, finite difference schemes, etc., Mesh adaptation, Machine learning for acceleration of scientific computing

Link to Profile:David Del Rey Fernandez

Jesse Hoey

School of Computer Science

Email: jesse.hoey@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Artificial intelligence, affective computing, and health informatics

Link to Profile: Jesse Hoey

Brian Ingalls

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: bingalls@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Applications of Systems and Control Theory to Molecular Systems Biology and to Synthetic Biology

Link to Profile: Brian Ingalls

Anita Layton

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: anita.layton@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Mathematical Biology and Medicine

Link to Profile: Anita Layton

Henry Shum

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: ph3shum@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Biological fluid dynamics, microswimmers, biological and chemical reaction networks, numerical methods for fluid-structure interactions 

Link to Profile: Henry Shum