Computational Optimization and Operations Research profiles

Dan Brown

School of Computer Science

Email: dan.brown@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Understanding of sequential data, joining ideas from evolutionary theory with probabilistic modeling and discrete mathematical ideas

Link to Profile: Dan Brown

William Cook

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: bico@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Integer programming and combinatorial optimization

Link to Profile: William Cook

Hans De Sterck

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email:  hans.desterck@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Large-scale scientific computing, Multilevel numerical linear algebra methods, Numerical methods for PDEs, Novel platforms for scientific computing including GPUs and clouds, Computational fluid dynamics

Link to Profile: Hans De Sterck

Michelle Delcourt

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: michelle.delcourt@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Extremal combinatorics and structural graph theory

Link to Profile: Michelle Delcourt

Ben Feng

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Email: ben.feng@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Computational Finance, Computational Optimization, Monte Carlo and Stochastic Methods

Link to Profile: Ben Feng

Kimon Fountoulakis

School of Computer Science

Email: kimon.fountoulakis@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Algorithms for convex optimization with applications in machine learning problems such as local graph clustering, community detection, regression and classification

Link to Profile: Kimon Fountoulakis

Ricardo Fukasawa

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: rfukasawa@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Mixed Integer Programming (theory and computation), Operations Research, Polyhedral Combinatorics, Combinatorial Optimization

Link to Profile: Ricardo Fukasawa

Vijay Ganesh

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Email: vganesh@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Boolean SAT and SMT solvers, theorem provers, solvers for combinatorial mathematics, foundations of mathematics, complexity theory

Link to Profile: Vijay Ganesh

Chris Godsil

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: cgodsil@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Cover, Homomorphisms and Colorings, EKR Theorems, Complex Lines, Graph Spectra

Link to Profile: Chris Godsil

David Gosset

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: david.gosset@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: The theory of quantum computing, quantum algorithms and quantum complexity theory

Link to Profile: David Gosset

Roberto Guglielmi

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: roberto.guglielmi@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Control of finite and infinite dimensional systems, optimization with PDE-constraints, model predictive control, stability of dynamical systems and feedback controls, and applications to finance and natural sciences

Link to Profile: Roberto Guglielmi

Jesse Hoey

School of Computer Science

Email: jesse.hoey@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Artificial intelligence, affective computing, and health informatics

Link to Profile: Jesse Hoey

Jochen Koenemann

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: jochen@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Approximation Algorithms, Algorithmic Game Theory, Combinatorial Optimization

Link to Profile: Jochen Koenemann

Ilias Kotsireas

Department of Physics and Computer Science, Wilfrid Laurier University

Email: ikotsire@wlu.ca

Research Interests: Symbolic Computation, Computer Algebra, Computational Algebra, Combinatorial Matrix Theory, Combinatorial Optimization, Commutative Algebra & Algebraic Geometry, Computer Algebra, Combinatorial Designs, Discrete Mathematics, Combinatorics

Link to Profile: Ilias Kotsireas

Yuying Li

School of Computer Science

Email: yuying@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Design, analysis and application of computational algorithms for continuous optimization problems and, more generally, problems in scientific computing

Link to Profile: Yuying Li

Jun Liu

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: j.liu@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Computational aspects of control and dynamical systems

Link to Profile: Jun Liu

Kirsten Morris

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: kmorris@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Estimator design, Computation of controllers for systems modelled by partial differential equations, Optimal actuator/sensor location, Robust control of smart materials, Hysteresis

Link to Profile: Kirsten Morris

Walaa Moursi

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: wmoursi@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Continuous optimization, non-smooth optimization, convex analysis, monotone operator theory 

Link to Profile: Walaa Moursi

Pascal Poupart

School of Computer Science

Email: ppoupart@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Artificial intelligence and more precisely in the areas of reasoning under uncertainty and machine learning, with application to health informatics and natural language processing

Link to Profile: Pascal Poupart

Chaitanya Swamy

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: cswamy@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Combinatorial optimization, approximation algorithms, algorithmic game theory, stochastic optimization, network design, scheduling, and online algorithms

Giang Tran

Department of Applied Mathematics

Email: giang.tran@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Sparse Modeling and Sparse Optimization Methods, Data Science, Image Processing and Medical Imaging, Compressed Sensing

Link to Profile: Giang Tran

Levent Tunçel

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: ltuncel@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Mathematical optimization, mathematics of operations research and foundations of computational mathematics

Link to Profile: Levent Tunçel

Stephen Vavasis

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: vavasis@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Continuous optimization and numerical analysis

Link to Profile: Stephen Vavasis

Olga Veksler

School of Computer Science

Email: oveksler@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Visual correspondence (stereo, motion) and image segmentation

Link to Profile: Olga Veklser

Henry Wolkowicz

Department of Combinatorics and Optimization

Email: henry.wolkowicz@uwaterloo.ca

Research Interests: Optimization; Mathematical Programming (linear, nonlinear, semidefinite programming, semi-infinite); Low Rank Matrix Completions, Compressive Sensing; Quadratic Assignment, Graph Partitioning, Knapsack Problems; Numerical Analysis (numerical linear algebra); Convex Analysis; Matrix Theory (eigenvalue bounds, invariant cones); Generalized Inverses (operators and matrices)

Pages