David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science



The University of Waterloo's David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science is the largest academic concentration of computer science researchers in Canada. We have more than 100 faculty members, 60 administrative, instructional and technical staff, 4,000 undergraduate students and 450 graduate students.

Our CS research areas

- Algorithms and complexity
- Artificial intelligence and machine learning
- Bioinformatics
- Computer algebra and symbolic computation
- Computer graphics
- Cryptography, security, and privacy
- Data systems

- Formal methods
- Health informatics
- Human-computer interaction
- Programming languages
- Quantum computing
- Scientific computation
- Software engineering
- Systems and networking
- Theoretical neuroscience



Matt Brehmer HCI and data visualization; ubietous information experiences



Renée J. Miller Canada Excellence Research Chair in Data Intelligence Data systems, in particular data integration



Anamaria Crisan

Human-centred AI and ML;

interactive visualization

systems; data science in

Freda Shi Computational linguistics and natural language processing



Yuntian Deng Natural language processing and machine learning



Xiao Hu Database theory and its applications to practical database systems

Victor Zhong

Machine learning, natural language processing, reinforcement learning and AI

Cheriton School of Computer Science, top-ranked CS program in Canada for fourth year in a row 2024 Maclean's University Rankings

Cheriton School of Computer Science, 21st CS program internationally

2024 Quacquarelli Symonds World University Subject Rankings

N. Asokan Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

Shai Ben-David, Ian Goldberg ACM Fellows

Jo Atlee Lifetime Achievement Award, CS-Can | Info-Can

Ming Li IEEE Computer Society W. Wallace McDowell Award

Craig S. Kaplan and international colleagues Aperiodic monotile, TIME's 2023 Best Inventions

Our highlights

M. Tamer Özsu

- IEEE TCDE Education Award
- ACM Presidential Award

Ihab Ilyas IEEE Canada C.C. Gotlieb Computer Award

Daniel Vogel ACM Distinguished Member

Md. Faizul Bari, Arup Raton Roy, Shihabur Rahman Chowdhury, Qi Zhang, Mohamed Faten Zhani, Reaz Ahmed, Raouf Boutaba 2024 CNOM Test of Time Paper Award

Gautam Kamath and international colleagues

- Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies
- Best Paper Award, ICML 2024

Nikhita Joshi, Daniel Vogel Best Paper Award, CHI 2024

Xinyu Shi, Jian Zhao, Yinghou Wang, Yun Wang Best Paper Award, CHI 2024

David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science • University of Waterloo 200 University Avenue West • Waterloo, ON, Canada N2L 3G1 • cs.uwaterloo.ca

UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO

FACULTY OF MATHEMATICS DAVID R. CHERITON SCHOOL OF COMPUTER SCIENCE

Vasisht Duddu, Sebastian Szyller, N. Asokan Distinguished Paper Award, PLDI 2023

Jo Atlee, Rungroj Maipradit, Joy Idialu, Noble Saji Mathews, Mei Nagappan ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award, MSR 2024

Raouf Boutaba Inaugural Rogers Chair in Network Automation

Yaoliang Yu Ontario Early Researcher Award

Damien Masson

- Prix de thèse L'Association Francophone de l'Interaction Humain-Machine Dissertation Award
- Bill Buxton Award for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation in Human-Computer Interaction

Andrew Qi Tang, Ramazan Rakhmatullin, Kevin Wan

Eighth globally (silver medallists), first in North America, 47th ICPC World Finals