Jack Rosen Virtual Pitch Competition

Jack Rosen Digital Poster

Each year as a part of the Jack Rosen pitch competition, the Faculty of Environment students are invited to submit an idea (device, process, or method) that could solve, mitigate, or avoid an environmental problem. The 2021 Jack Rosen pitch competition will be held virtually on February 3, 2021, 5:30 pm-7:30 pm.

Entrants are asked to identify an environmental problem and succinctly explain how their proposed solution will help by completing an online form. Finalists will pre-record a 3-minute pitch, create a PowerPoint presentation and attend a live Q & A session with a panel of esteemed judges for a chance to win a Grand Prize of $3,000 or an Honorable Mention of $1,000.

Students may enter individually or in teams of up to five. All groups must include at least one full-time undergraduate or graduate student enrolled in the Faculty of Environment. One entry is permitted per student or team.

Submit online applications by Thursday, December 17, 2020.

Refer to presentation_template.pptx for your PowerPoint presentation guide. 

Important Deadlines

  • December 17, 2020: Deadline for student applications.
  • December 21, 2020: Finalists will be contacted.
  • January 8, 2021: Deadline for PowerPoint presentations.
  • January 21, 2021: Professional workshop (4:30 pm -6:00 pm).
  • January 27, 2021: Deadline to submit 3-minute pitch video.
  • February 3, 2021: Jack Rosen Virtual Pitch Competition (5:30 pm-7:30 pm).


Judging Criteria

Judges will evaluate submissions and pitch based on the following criteria:

  • Innovativeness: How unique or creative is the solution?
  • Effectiveness: How well would it solve the identified environmental problem?
  • Commercialization: Could it be applied globally/implemented and managed easily?
  • Cost-Effectiveness: Has the cost/benefit ratio or cost recovery been considered?
  • Presentation: How well the presenter(s) articulated the idea

Background Information about Jack Rosen

More information on the Jack Rosen Memorial Award