Joint MA in Intercultural German Studies

Where and what did you study before you came to Germanic and Slavic Studies at University of Waterloo?Anna Rohmann

I studied the BA 'Culture and Economy: German studies' with a minor in business administration at the University of Mannheim.

What are your interests in German Studies?

I am especially interested in the cultural aspects of literature and language and their connections to other disciplines. For example my BA thesis was about how literary reflections of the concepts moral, time and space were influenced by economic developments. I tend to lean more towards literary studies than linguistics.

Why did you choose University of Waterloo?

The University of Waterloo has an excellent academic reputation and a lot of opportunities to get engaged in campus life (like clubs). Furthermore, during my exchange semester in Boston I discovered that I like the learning experience at North American Universities that emphasize collaborating with your professors and working closely with the department, so I wanted to complete my graduate degree abroad and UW offered the perfect program. 

Why did you choose this program?

I was really intrigued by the IcGS-program because it fits right into my research interest and offers the opportunity to explore (inter)cultural aspects by studying abroad. The transcultural approach and integrated modules that encourage doing academic work appealed to me.

Do you already know what you want to write your thesis on?

Not really. I know that I am probably going to write it in literary studies, but have no research question yet. I am working on it though. 

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I had multiple ideas: I was really fascinated with musicals and wanted to perform in them as an actress until I realized that people would be watching me then. When I was a teenager I wanted to become a makeup artist or therapist, because according to my logic both helped people to feel good. Later I also added author and professor to that list. I guess we'll see if I end up in one of those professions when I finally grow up. ;)

What is something people wouldn't guess about you?

I am really bad at opening things, be it bottles, doors, boxes, you name it. I will need help or tools to open it (otherwise I am a strong, independent woman).

Affiliation: 
University of Waterloo

Profiles by type