The GSA-UW Board of Directors is responsible for overseeing corporate interests of the Graduate Student Association. Directors are elected by graduate students each year at the GSA Annual General Meeting held in the Winter term. The Board is governed by the GSA Bylaws and may consist of ten to fifteen Directors.  

All Directors must be University of Waterloo graduate students and members of the GSA. The membership of the Board consists of:

  • Chair of the Board, appointed by the Board
  • elected Directors
  • President who serves on the Board ex-officio

Board Members

Role Name Term Ends
President & Officer (ex officio Director) Naima Samuel Apr-20
Chair of the Board Rebecca Stirling Apr-20
Director Nick Revington Apr-20
Director Dmitrii Marin Apr-21
Director Kareem Tarek Mostafa Apr-21
Director (Corporate Secretary) Tyler Hampton Apr-21
Director Jennifer Reid Apr-21
Director Daniel Grimmer Apr-20
Director Twesh Upadhyaya Apr-20
Director Jason Luong Apr-20
Director Phil Bériault Apr-20

Board Meetings & Minutes

Meeting Dates (2019-2020) Meeting Minutes
May 9, 2019 Minutes
May 17, 2019 Minutes
June 18, 2019 Minutes
June 25, 2019 Minutes
July 16, 2019 Minutes
July 23, 2019 Minutes
August 20, 2019 Minutes
September 17, 2019 Minutes
September 26, 2019 Minutes
October 15, 2019 Minutes
November 21, 2019 Minutes
January 21, 2020 Minutes
January 28, 2020 Minutes
February 11, 2020 Minutes
February 18, 2020  
March 17, 2020  
April 21, 2020