News archive - June 2018

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Rebecca Co wins CSM Terry Beveridge Student Poster award & Ram and Lekha Tumkur memorial graduate scholarship

Rebecca Co and Laura Hug, holding award certificate

Rebecca Co was awarded the Terry Beveridge Student Poster Award at the 68th annual Canadian Society for Microbiologists conference in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Her poster was selected to compete, and then adjudicated as one of the top three posters at the conference.

Rebecca was also honoured with the Ram and Lekha Tumkur memorial graduate scholarship for 2018, a scholarship awarded by the Department of Biology at the University of Waterloo.

Congratulations Rebecca!

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Veronica Viljakainen, Angus Hilts, and Nikhil George win the Pioneers in Microbiology award 2018

Angus Hilts, Laura Hug, Veronica Viljakainen, holding awards

Hug lab members Nikhil George, Veronica Viljakainen, and Angus Hilts were honoured with the Waterloo Pioneers in Microbiology Graduate Award at the Department of Biology award reception. The Pioneers in Microbiology award is given annually to students in the first year of their graduate program who demonstrate strong research ability, scholastic aptitude, and an interest in pursuing microbiology.

Congrats Angus, Nikhil, and Veronica!

  1. 2020 (1)
    1. May (1)
  2. 2018 (2)
    1. June (2)
  3. 2016 (2)