WIN Rising Star Award in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

The Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN) at the University of Waterloo is Canada’s largest nanotechnology institute committed to United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals. We are pleased to announce an international call for submission for the WIN Rising Star Award to recognize an emerging leader in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

Eligibility: A full-time faculty member who has received their PhD in science/engineering within the past ten years (on or after December 31st, 2012). The individual’s research interest must align with one or more of the thematic area(s) of WIN: Smart and Functional Materials; Connected Devices; Next Generation Energy Systems; and Therapeutics and Theranostics. Applicants cannot be currently employed by the University of Waterloo. 

Award: long with the $5,000 CAD honorarium, the award recipient will present a featured research seminar at the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology at the University of Waterloo, either in person or virtually, dependent on public health guidelines and travel permissions.

Submission: The submission package should be one single PDF file containing the following: (a) One-page write-up about the impact of applicant’s research in the chosen thematic area(s) and its alignment with UN SDGs; (b) Full curriculum vitae; (c) Name and contact details of three references.

Deadline for submissions is extended to October 15th, 2022 to WIN’s Executive Director, Dr. Sushanta Mitra via email: 

2022 Call for submission.

Past Rising Star Award Recipients

The award condition stipulates that the awardee must be available to receive the award in person when visiting the University of Waterloo. The seminar may be in person or virtual, depending on public health and travel restrictions. WIN will cover the economy fare journey of the awardee between Waterloo and her/his institution and up to two nights’ hotel stay in Waterloo. WIN reserves the right to give the award only to a deserving candidate, as outlined in the eligibility section, above.