Friday, September 30, 2016

Conclusion of this year's WIN-MISMap Grad Exchange

Interim WIN Director Dr. Kleinke (right) says good-bye and thanks to Wojciech Wegner, Ph.D. student from Warsaw (left).

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

WIN member receives $3 million for battery research

Professor Zongwei Chen, Director of Collaborative Graduate Program in Nanotechnology and Canada Research Chair in Advanced Materials for Clean Energy, will be co-developing a new kind of lithium-ion battery that may be on the market in three to four years. It will be safer and cheaper than contemporary Li+ batteries and will allow an electric car to travel up to 500 km on a single charge.

Newtech Power Inc. has granted Dr. Chen $3 million in funding to further his work.

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Holger Kleinke named Interim Executive Director of WIN

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Holger Kleinke as Interim Executive Director, WIN, for a one-year term beginning September 8, 2016,” wrote Vice-President, University Research D. George Dixon in a memo circulated last week.

Friday, February 12, 2016

WIN Executive Director Arthur Carty named AAAS Fellow

Professor Arthur Carty receiving the fellowship rosette at the Fellows Forum during the AAAS Annual Meeting.

Professor Arthur Carty, Inaugural Director of the Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology, has been honoured as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Carty will be officially inducted as a Fellow at the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting on February 13th in Washington, DC.

  1. 2018 (4)
    1. June (1)
    2. March (2)
    3. February (1)
  2. 2017 (1)
    1. August (1)
  3. 2016 (4)
  4. 2015 (5)
  5. 2014 (7)
  6. 2013 (4)
  7. 2012 (7)
  8. 2011 (11)
  9. 2010 (12)
  10. 2009 (2)