International collaboration is a mandate of Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN) and increasingly for all research institutions around the world. It allows researchers to participate in networks of excellence and engage in innovative activity. For the researchers, international collaboration has identified complementary expertise with leading people and provided access to world-class facilities that will enable activity that would not otherwise have been created.

WIN has forged strong research and educational collaborations with the following 19 nanotechnology institutions/programs in 10 countries:

World map

Countries Institutions
Brazil Brazilian National Nanotechnology Laboratory (LNNano)

Soochow University, Suzhou (SU)

Suzhou Industrial Park (SIP)

France Université de Bordeaux
Germany Center for Nanointegration Duisburg-Essen (CENIDE)

Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB)

Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR)

Israel Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
Japan National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS)
Poland MISMap College of the University of Warsaw

Academia Sinica (AS)

National Cheng Kung University (NCKU)

National Chiao Tung University (NCTU)

National Taiwan University (NTU)

National Tsinghua University (NTHU)

National Program on Nanotechnology (NPNT)

United Kingdom

University of Bristol

University of Cambridge