WIN Interdisciplinary Research Funding Program

Program Description

The WIN Interdisciplinary Research Funding Program (WIN-IRFP) is a competitive program aimed to provide seed funding and support interdisciplinary research which is typically not supported by traditional granting agencies. The intent of the program is to help WIN researchers work on “high risk-high reward” blue-sky discovery research that could provide some initial data points and insights as a first step to enable researchers to target various established funding programs.

Funding Amount

For each competition cycle, three (3) outstanding proposals will be funded. The maximum funding request for each submitted proposal is $100,000. The project duration for the requested funding is for one year.


For this program, the co-applicant must be a full-time faculty member outside the Faculty of Engineering and Faculty of Science.

Application Guidelines

The proposal should contain the following sections:

  • Introduction
  • Background
  • Objectives
  • Methodology
  • Budget Table and Justification
  • References


The exact distribution of pages among the sections is at the applicant’s discretion. The proposal should be a maximum 5 pages in total.


Applicants should only use a standard, single-column on an 8.5” x 11” page layout. The proposal must be written using a 12-point, blackcoloured font, single line spacing (six lines per inch) and with no condensed type or spacing, with a margin of no less than 2.5 centimetres (1 inch) around the page.

Cover Page

Applicants are to complete the WIN-IRFP internal cover sheet, along with the standard UW Office of Research cover sheet as required for all application submissions indicating WIN as the associated institute. 


The submission of the proposal should also include the Plain Language Summary (1500 characters).

Adjudication will be conducted by the Special Projects and Research Committee (SPARC), which is an advisory committee to the Executive Director, whose members include:

  • John Thompson, Associate Vice-President Research
  • Anwar Hassan, Associate Dean of Research and External Partnerships, Faculty of Engineering
  • Bernard Duncker, Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Science
  • Zbig Wasilewski, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Shirley Tang, Professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Lisa Pokrajac, WIN Assistant Director Research Programs

Award selection will be announced on 2nd April 2018.

Deadline for submissions is February 28, 2018.

Frequently asked questions and answers can be found here.