You are here

Frequently asked questions

General Information:

Course Management:


What Browsers are supported?

Please see system requirements

How do I request a course to be created?

Contact learnhelp@uwaterloo.ca with the course information. Please provide us with the section numbers and any cross-listing information associated with the requested course. Instructors are also able to request their own courses by accessing https://learntools.uwaterloo.ca/ and requesting the course.

Why is my Course empty?

By default, all requested course shells are empty. To add content to your course please see: Copying course content.

When are my courses activated and disabled for the term?

By default, courses that are using LEARN are activated the morning of the first day of classes for the term in which they are being taught. Courses from the previous term are disabled on that day, just prior to the activation of the new term rosters.  While this is the default setting, instructors may elect to release courses prior to, or later than, the first day of classes.  To request an early release or extension, please contact learnhelp@uwaterloo.ca

How do I add TAs to my course?

Steps for Instructors to add a TA:

  • Access the Connect menu
  • Select Classlist
  • Add a Participant
  • Add existing user
  • Search for the TA
  • Check the box beside the user name
  • Choose an access level (TA level 1.5, 2, 3, or 4)
  • Enrol Selected Users

Instructors can also have TAs added by emailing learnhelp@uwaterloo.ca and including the following information: Course, Section Number, Term, Instructor Name, TA Name(s), Student ID Number(s) and TA uwuserid(s).

Please indicate the level of access the TA(s) will require.

How long will my course appear on my LEARN homepage?

By default, courses are kept on instructors’ LEARN homepages for a year (3 terms) after the term of offer. A snapshot is taken of the course a month after the course has been taught and archived (content only is archived, not student data). At the end of the 3 terms, the courses are removed from the instructors’ LEARN homepage.

How often are class rosters updated?

Class rosters are updated daily at 7:30am, 11:40 am, 4:40 pm, 8:40 pm, 12:40 am.

How do I transfer course content from one term to another?

  • Click the Edit Course link on your course navigation bar.
  • Click Import/Export/Copy Components.
  • Select Copy Components from Another Org Unit and click the Add Selected button
  • Find the course you are copying content from in the dropdown menu.
  • Select all Components or choose the individual items to copy within a component.
  • Click Continue.
  • If you need to modify what you are copying you can do this now otherwise click Finish.
  • Wait until all selections have a green checkmark to the left. 
  • Click Done.

How can I see what a student sees when viewing my course?

  • Click Connect
  • Click Classlist
  • Click the Test Student tab
  • Click the down arrow to the right of the test students name
  • Click Impersonate
  • Click yes in the pop-up window
  • To return to your own view click the Test Student's name in the top right hand corner and click the X

How can I get a class listing that can be used for maintaining marks outside of LEARN?

If you would like to maintain your grades outside of LEARN you can export your grades.

  • Click the grades tab
  • Click Enter Grades
  • Click the Export Grades link

How can I get a member list of all the teams within my course?

We are currently working on a tool that will allow for the exporting of team list.