Librarians' Association of the University of Waterloo Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, April 27, 2005 12:00 p.m.

Present: Margaret Aquan-Yuen, Christy Branston, Laura Briggs, Jane Britton, Morag Coyne, Jane Forgay, Mark Haslett, Christine Jewell, Sandra Keys, Doug Morton, Erin Murphy, Bill Oldfield, Jim Parrott, Richard Pinnell, Shabiran Rahman, Susan Routliffe, Dan Sich, Carol Stephenson, Linda Teather, Marina Wan

Jane Forgay welcomed everyone to the meeting.

1. Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of May 7, 2004 were accepted with one correction.

2. Additional Agenda

There were no additional agenda.

3. Annual Reports

Jane Forgay moved to accept the reports; Doug Morton seconded.

a. President's Report

Jane Forgay tabled the President's Report. Points highlighted in the report were Executive Committee activities during 2004/2005 and "Faculty Partnerships."

b. Treasurer's Report

Dan Sich tabled the treasurer's report.

c. Program Committee Report

Christy Branston tabled the Programs Committee Report. Appreciation was expressed for the work done by Christy and the four other members of the committee. Program ideas raised for the coming year included getting together with librarians from other institutions.

d. Compensation Committee Report

Bill Oldfield tabled the Compensation Committee Report. We have moved up one step to 8th out of 14 in the ARL Canadian Salaries table.

The President's Report, the Treasurer's Report, the Program Committee's Report and the Compensation Committee's Report were accepted unanimously.

4. Election of Officers and Chairs of Standing Committees for 2003/04

Richard Pinnell tabled the Nominations Committee report and named the individuals nominated for the positions of President, Treasurer, Secretary, Programs Committee Chair and Compensations Committee Chair. No additional nominations were forthcoming from the floor and the nominated individuals were acclaimed.

The LAUW Executive for 2005/2006 consists of:

President: Doug Morton
Past President: Jane Forgay
Treasurer: Sandra Keys
Secretary: Jane Britton

Compensation Committee Chair: Carol Stephenson

Programs Committee Chair: Christy Branston

5. Membership Fees, 2005/2006

Moved by Linda Teather that the LAUW dues remain at \$20.00 for the 2005/2006 fiscal year, seconded by Bill Oldfield.

6. Ideas for 2005/2006

Jane Forgay reiterated that LAUW is open at all times to input from the membership.

Discussion ensued about the possibilities of meeting with librarians from other institutions, starting with TUG partners.

A program idea involving Church College librarians and their work was raised.

Membership in LAUW was clarified: a member has to be a librarian working in a professional librarian's position at UW (not staff and not Church Colleges). Membership categories were discussed; any changes would have to be made through constitutional revision.

Jane Forgay thanked everyone for coming. The meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.