### The Librarians' Association of the University of Waterloo Minutes of the meeting of March 23, 2000

Present:

Margaret Aquan-Yuen, Amy Chan, Jane Forgay, Carol Stephenson, Anne Fullerton (Programs Chair and Facilitator), Christine Jewell (Recorder), Amos Lakos, Erin Murphy, Richard Pinnell, Jackie Stapleton, Linda Teather, Marina Wan.

1. MINUTES OF THE AGM May, 1993

It was noted that the minutes of the May 1993 meeting had already been accepted at the AGM of 1994. The minutes of the Annual General Meeting of May 25, 1994, were distributed. These minutes were accepted.

### 2. BUSINESS ARISING

There was no business arising.

### 3. ADDITIONAL AGENDA

There was no additional agenda.

# 4. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT (ANNE FULLERTON)

There was no President's Report

#### 5. AD-HOC COMMITTEE REPORT (ANNE FULLERTON)

Anne provided notes from the informal meeting of LAUW members held March 15, 1995. These notes include a description of the activities of the Ad-Hoc Committee on Academic Status to March 1995. Anne also provided a committee report that lists milestones of the effort from 1994 and the present.

#### 6. PROGRAMS COMMITTEE REPORT (ANNE FULLERTON)

Anne provided the list of five programs presented by the Programs Committee the years 1995 to 1998.

# 7. COMPENSATION COMMITTEE REPORT (AMOS LAKOS)

Amos presented a discussion and overview of tables and charts of librarians' salaries based on CARL, OCUL, and CAUT figures. He also distributed an essay written by Amos and Anne Fullerton: "Analysing Salary Prospects for UW Librarians". 8. TREASURER'S REPORT (HELENA CALOGERIDIS) In Helena's absence, Anne Fullerton presented the Treasurer's Report for 1995 to the present. Anne noted that the Journal of Academic Librarianship has been purchased by Development Funds in recent years. The cost will now be minimal however because this title comes with Elsevier Science Direct package the Library has bought into.

Anne called for a motion to accept these reports. Erin Murphy seconded the motion. The motion was passed.

### 9. FUTURE OF LAUW

Christine Jewell called for a motion to revive LAUW. Richard Pinnell seconded the motion. The motion was passed.

# 10. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND CHAIRS OF STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 2000/2001

All nominated candidates were acclaimed. The Executive Committee for 2000/2001 consists of the following:

President: Anne Fullerton Secretary: Linda Teather Treasurer: Helena Calogeridis Compensation: Amos Lakos Programs: Christine Jewell

# 11. PROPOSED BUDGET (HELENA CALOGERIDIS)

Deferred.

# 12. MEMBERSHIP FEES (HELENA CALOGERIDIS)

Deferred.

# 13. DISCUSSION

It was agreed that the Executive would confirm that a quorum was passed.

Linda Teather agreed to send an announcement to UW Librarians and other concerned individuals regarding the newly elected LAUW Executive.