Librarians' Association of the University of Waterloo Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, May 7, 2004 12:00 p.m.

Present: Margaret Aquan-Yuen, Jane Britton, Amy Chan, Jane Forgay, Bill Oldfield, Jim Parrott, Richard Pinnell, Shabiran Rahman, Dan Sich, Linda Teather

Shabiran Rahman welcomed everyone to the meeting.

1. Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Apr. 29, 2003 were accepted with one correction. Moved: Bill Oldfield, seconded, Linda Teather.

2. Additional Agenda

There were no additional agenda.

3. Annual Reports

Jane Forgay moved to accept the reports; Dan Sich seconded.

a. President's Report

Shabira Rahman tabled the President's Report. Points highlighted in the report included LAUW's involvement in the negotiations for librarian representation by FAUW, the work of the Ad Hoc Working Group on Librarians' Issues, and the survey of librarians re representation by FAUW.

b. Treasurer's Report

Bill Oldfield tabled the treasurer's report. Moved by Bill Oldfield that the LAUW dues remain at \$20.00 for the 2004/2005 fiscal year, seconded by Jane Britton.

c. Program Committee Report

The Programs Committee Report was tabled in absentia. Programs for 2003/2004 were not offered due to involvement in LAUW executive activities.

d. Compensation Committee Report

Jane Forgay tabled the Compensation Committee Report. Highlights included ARL summaries and tables; ARL vs CARL methodologies, timeliness and seeming discrepancies; TUG partners salary data. Updated figures received by

Linda Teather showed us to be in 6th place in 2002, 5th place in average and median salaries in 2003 of the 10 Universities ranked in Ontario.

The President's Report, the Treasurer's Report, the Program Committee's Report and the Compensation Committee's Report were accepted unanimously.

4. Election of Officers and Chairs of Standing Committees for 2003/04

Richard Pinnell tabled the Nominations committee report and named the individuals nominated for the positions of President, Treasurer, Secretary, Programs Committee Chair and Compensations Committee Chair. No additional nominations were forthcoming from the floor and the nominated individuals were acclaimed.

The LAUW Executive for 2004/2005 consists of:

President: Jane Forgay

Past President: Shabiran Rahman

Treasurer: Dan Sich Secretary: Jane Britton

Compensation Committee Chair: Bill Oldfield Programs Committee Chair: Christie Branston

Shabiran Rahman turned the meeting over to new president Jane Forgay.

5. LAUW in the Upcoming Year

Discussion ensued re how we plan to go forward from the results of the Librarians' Issues Committee results. The consensus was that we should review those results with a view to applying and testing them. We need to support the Program Chair in efforts to develop an active program for the coming year.

Jane Britton moved that the meeting be adjourned. Richard Pinnell seconded. The meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m..