Dean's Message - April 2013

I'm pleased to announce two new Associate Deans (ADs) effective July 1:

  • Steve Furino (AD Undergraduate Studies)
  • Yuying Li (AD Graduate Studies)

Continuing as Associate Deans are Robin Cohen (AD Research), Serge D’Alessio (AD Admissions and Outreach), Barry Ferguson (AD Co-operative Education) and Wayne Oldford (AD Computing). Also effective July 1, Ilham Akhundov will become Director, Math/Business, and Riley Metzger will continue as Director, First Year Studies. 

Orchestra@uwaterloo will perform their ‘Arabian Nights’ concert on April 4. Anna Lubiw tells us there are 19 Math faculty people in the orchestra this term, mostly undergraduates, a few graduate students, 1 alumnus and 1 faculty member. They include the co-concertmaster Robert Jonsson, who is a graduate student in Applied Mathematics, the principal cellist, Young Ho Yoo, and the entire clarinet section.

In addition to talented musicians, there are great athletes among us. Gerald Gayowsky (Applied Mathematics) and Cameron Seth (Math and Physics) are recent varsity squash medallists.

I was very pleased to learn that two of the four recipients of the 2013 Amit & Meena Chakma Award for Exceptional Teaching by a Student are PhD students in our Faculty. Congratulations to Alex Shum in Applied Mathematics and Shuntaro Yamagishi in Pure Mathematics. Alex was also recently honoured with the Feds Teaching Award.

Robert Jonsson (Applied Mathematics) and David Qian (Combinatorics and Optimization) were selected to represent the Math Faculty at the university-wide Three-Minute Thesis competition. Robert's thesis "Relativistic Quantum Information" is supervised by Achim Kempf and David's thesis "Mathematical Optimization and Skull Surgery" is supervised by Ricardo Fukasawa.

Congratulations to Computer Science student Henry Shi – Faculty of Mathematics and National Co-op Student of the Year, as recognized by the Canadian Association for Co-operative Education.

Welcome to Cathy Honsberger, the new administrative coordinator (international exchange).

Finally, our faculty members’ fundamental contributions continue to be recognized. Congratulations to new University Professor Doug Stinson and new Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, Raouf Boutaba. Retired faculty member Rob Brown is President-Elect of the International Actuarial Association.

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo