Dean's Message - April 2016

Spring is here! With goose nesting season in full swing, we’re reminded of the challenges that come with sharing our campus with local wildlife.

It’s an exciting time for faculty and students as well. I’m pleased to share a number of opportunities and events that are coming up:

Congratulations are in order for these colleagues:

  • Kate Larson, honoured with the Canadian Association for Computer Science Outstanding Young Canadian Computer Science Researcher Award.
  • Ian VanderBurgh, honoured with the 2016 Canadian Mathematical Society Excellence in Teaching Award

and students:

  • PhD candidates John Doucette and Hadi Hosseini, recipients of 2016 Amit and Meena Chakma Awards for Exceptional Teaching by a Student
  • Demetri Pananos, winner of the Three Minute Thesis competition Faculty of Mathematics heat (who represented us brilliantly at the UW competition yesterday)
    Joey Pereira, Co-op Student of the Year for the Faculty of Mathematics
  • Yujie Zhong, winner of the 2016 Murray Martin Prize for the best research paper by a Faculty of Mathematics graduate student

I’d like to welcome Tracy Dietrich to the Faculty. Tracy is the new Assistant to the Director in Computer Science.

Stephen Watt, Dean

Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo

Stephen Watt