Dean's Message - January 2012

I am very pleased to inform you that Sue Ann Campbell will become chair of Applied Mathematics, effective July 1, 2012, for a four year term.

I am very pleased to announce that Brian Forrest will become chair of Pure Mathematics for two years, from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2014. Following that, Kathryn Hare will become chair of four years, from July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2018.

We welcome new staff member Ana Freitas, who will be joining the Faculty as our first-year experience/academic integrity officer replacing Jeff Henry.

Congratulations to Raouf Boutaba who has been named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) "for contributions to automated network and service management methodologies and applications."

The J.W. Graham Medal in Computing and Innovation selection committee is accepting nominations until January 29.

The 25th annual Math Faculty Awards Ceremony will be held on Thursday, January 26, 2012. We will honour first-year entrance award winners, upper-year Senate Scholarship winners, students who have done well in university competitions, and recipients of numerous one-time awards. I would be pleased to have you join us for the evening, and I am sure that our students would appreciate the opportunity to meet with you.

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo