Dean's Message - January 2014

Happy new year!

As we kick off the winter term, I am pleased to announce that Stefan Steiner will begin a four-year term as Chair of Statistics and Actuarial Science on July 1.

I look forward to working with the new Mathematics Society (MathSoc) executive: President Lauren Hurley, Vice-President (VP) Academic Stephane Hamade, VP Events Nancy Yang, and VP Operations Ty Rozak.

Welcome to new staff member Cyntia Bratan, who will be the administrative coordinator, undergraduate studies in Applied Mathematics.

The J.W. Graham Medal in Computing and Innovation committee is accepting nominations until February 1. For more information, please contact Kate Jessop.

Congratulations to fall 2013 work report winners Curtis Kroetsch, Melanie Chanona, Chengcheng (David) Xu, and Wayne Chang.

With all of the excitement around astronaut Chris Hadfield joining the University, I note that one of the teachers who helped him reach his goals was our own Dean Murray.

A university information night will be held on campus January 15. Geared at grade 10 students and their families, this event will cover university application, financing and tips from current Waterloo students.

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo