Dean's Message - July 2012

July begins a new administrative year and I’m really pleased to start it with the same wonderful group of associate deans as last year: Robin Cohen, Serge D’Alessio, Barry Ferguson, David McKinnon, Wayne Oldford, and Levent Tuncel.

Convocation was a rousing send-off to the last year - and our 802 new alumni. Thanks to everyone who took part in the June 15 ceremonies. You can watch the video, including inspiring addresses from valedictorians Alexandra Russell and Ian Charlesworth as well as honorary DMath recipients John E. Dennis Jr. and Zvi Galil.

Our new Faculty news page tells of recent honours and awards for members of our community. Congratulations to SSC award winners Bei Chen, Changbao Wu and Mary Thompson, as well as Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching 2012 winners Stephen New and Levent Tuncel.

We’ve got another outstanding incoming class confirmed for September 2012, including Schulich Leader Scholarship winner Nicole Pitre from Nelson High School in Burlington. Nicole was one of 40 winners selected from among 977 nominees, recognized for her outstanding academic average and leadership with social justice groups, charitable fundraising, sports and theatre. She will begin a double degree in mathematics and business in the fall.

Our campus has really changed in recent years! Visit our Faculty home page and click on each image to enlarge the new aerial photos. It’s quite a view.

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo