Dean's Message - June 2012

We are very proud of the Waterloo Black ACM team - students Tyson Andre, Benoit Maurin, and Anton Raichuk with coach Prof. Ondrej Lhotak – winning a bronze medal at the Intercollegiate Programming Competition World Finals in Warsaw.

This year’s J.W. Graham Medal in Computing and Innovation has been awarded to Stephen Watt, Distinguished University Professor at Western and lead director, Descartes Systems Group. Everyone is welcome to attend his seminar “Leading flying objects”.

At convocation ceremonies at 10 am and 2:30 pm on June 15, we will hear from honorary degree recipients John Dennis and Zvi Galil and our valedictorians Alexandra Russell and Ian Charlesworth. I look forward to joining my colleagues on stage as we congratulate this year’s graduates.

A new award will be presented at the Math convocation – the Jessie W.H. Zou Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research goes to Matthew Harrison Trainor. Matthew was chosen by the Research Advisory Committee from eight strong nominations, representing all of the academic units in our Faculty.

It’s been a good year for Pure Mathematics researchers named Matthew. Alumnus Matthew Kennedy was honoured with the 2012 CMS Doctoral Prize.

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo