Dean's Message - June 2016

There are many overlapping years at the University of Waterloo:  There is the annual three term cycle, there is the April to March fiscal year of the federal research agencies, and there is the July to June academic year for academic appointments. This month marks the end of my first year as dean. I appreciate everyone’s support as I have learned the rhythm of this superb university and I look forward to what promise to be some exciting years to come.

Please join me in thanking our faculty leaders whose terms are coming to an end this month:

  • Sue Ann Campbell, outgoing Chair of the Department of Applied Mathematics
  • Tamer Ozsu, outgoing Associate Dean Research and
  • Cyntha Struthers, outgoing Faculty Teaching Fellow.

Each of these colleagues has generously contributed years of effective service to furthering the goals of the Faculty.

I would also like to thank the individuals who will step into these roles starting July 1:

  • Sivabal Sivaloganathan, incoming Chair of the Department of Applied Mathematics
  • Raouf Boutaba, incoming Associate Dean Research
  • Brian Forrest, incoming Faculty Teaching Fellow

I also thank Marek Stastna, who has agreed to extend his appointment as Associate Dean Computing for a year,  Frank Tompa, who has agreed to chair the Faculty of Mathematics 50th Anniversary Committee, and Achim Kempf, who has agreed to chair the Media Liaison Committee.

The READI project (Risk Management, Economic Sustainability and Actuarial Science Development in Indonesia) is now in full swing. Welcome to Jean Lowry, who has joined the Faculty as Project Director, and Bill Jennings, Research Financial Analyst for READI.

Congratulations to Mary Thompson, awarded an honorary degree in recognition of her work “with social and health scientists to evaluate government policies and measures that help prevent illnesses and early deaths.”

Applied Math PhD student Alexander Howse won the 2016 Certificate in University Teaching Award by the Centre for Teaching Excellence, recognizing him as the Certificate in University Teaching program’s top student.

The Waterloo Black team – Andy Huang, Antonio Molina Lovett and Jacob Jackson, with coach Troy Vasiga – placed 13th in the 2016 Association for Computing Machinery International Collegiate Programming Contest (ACM-ICPC) competition. Congratulations on this fine showing!

I would like to invite you to attend the 2016 J.W. Graham Medal Seminar on June 16th. This year’s Graham Medalist, Tas Tsonis, will present “How I used Math and Software to get into every Fashion House in the world.”

Lastly, a request on behalf of our Faculty of Mathematics 50th anniversary committee to share your memories. You’re invited to upload photos and stories, to help enrich our celebrations next year.

Stephen Watt, Dean

Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo

Stephen Watt