Dean's Message - May 2013

Did you know that 863 new startups have been formed in Waterloo since 2010? Maplesoft, one of the original local software companies with ties to our Faculty, has just celebrated its 25th anniversary. Congratulations to founders Gaston Gonnet and Keith Geddes.

Welcome to Doug Andrews, joining the Department of Statistics & Actuarial Science as director of the Master of Actuarial Science program, and James McConachie, new MFCF computing specialist.

Congratulations to these members of our Faculty, whose successes have been recognized recently:

  • Stefan Steiner, new Fellow of the American Society for Quality in recognition of his research contributions.
  • Dan Wolczuk – Mathematics Society's (MathSoc's) Instructor of the Year – and Edgar Bering, David McKinnon and Rita Wiebe, new Honorary Lifetime Members of the Society.
  • Ashraf Aboulnaga, Ali Ghodsi, Ian Goldberg and Kirsten Morris, who received new funding from the Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation.
  • Frank Ban, Kangning (Colin) Chen and Hao Sun, who received honourable mentions in the undergraduate Putnam Mathematical Competition. Many thanks to coach Stephen New.

David Eppstein from the University of California, Irvine, presents “From information visualization to soap bubbles” on May 13 as the final lecture in the Cheriton School of Computer Science 2012-13 Distinguished Lecture Series. Videos of past lectures are now available.

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo