Dean's Message - November 2011

We have lots to celebrate as the world’s population passes the 7 billion mark

I would like to congratulate Ian Goldberg, winner of the Electronic Frontier Foundation's Pioneer Award. This honour recognizes leaders on the electronic frontier who are extending freedom and innovation in the realm of information technology.

Our ACM International Collegiate Programing teams have once again excelled the regional competition, held October 22, 2011. The Waterloo Black team (Tyson Andre, Benoit Maurin, and Anton Raichuk) won the ACM East Central North America Regional ICPC by a very strong margin. They solved all nine problems of the five-hour contest in just over four hours. Runners-up were the University of Toronto and Carnegie Mellon University with eight problems, followed by the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor and Waterloo's Gold team (Minghao Dai, Felix Fung, and Kevin Yeo) with 6 problems solved. Waterloo's Red team (Chen Fei Du, Daniel Galperin, and Deon Nicholas) finished 17th out of 122 registered teams.

Waterloo Black advances to the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest World Finals to be held May 14 to 18, 2012 in Warsaw, Poland. Congratulations and thanks to the teams and coaches Ondrej Lhotak, Hanson Wang, Tor Myklebust, and Gordon Cormack.

Another successful student team on its way to the world championship is International Genetically Engineered Machine (iGEM). Waterloo’s iGEM team is an interdisciplinary undergraduate-driven group spanning the faculties of Science, Mathematics, and Engineering.

The 2011 team was awarded bronze medal standing at the Regional iGEM Jamboree, advancing to compete at the World Championship at MIT. According to team founder and mathematical modelling advisor Brian Ingalls, the ‘Region’ is the Americas: 67 teams competed, 25 were advanced to the World Championship. Congratulations to:

  • James Scott (Math)
  • Jordan Lapointe
  • Chris Milousis (Engineering)
  • Joon Hyuk Hong (Engineering)
  • Diljot Chhina (Science)
  • Andrew Dhawan (Math)
  • Simon Burru (Science)
  • Ekta Bibra (Science)
  • Arianne Villa (Science)
  • Michel Simard (Science)
  • Kasia Karpinska-Leydier (Science)
  • Angel Biskupovic (Science)
  • Conria D’Souza (Science)

Ian Goulden

Ian Goulden, Dean
Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo