Dean's Message - October 2015

I would like to thank the faculty, staff and students who represented our Faculty at the Ontario Universities Fair last weekend. We are fortunate to attract a strong and deep applicant pool, but it takes a lot of time and energy to reach these students as they make their decisions.

This coming weekend brings the annual reunion festivities.  I am looking forward to meeting the alumni coming back to campus – especially those from the graduating classes of 1975 and 1990 who are celebrating their 40th and 25th anniversary reunions.

Congratulations to these colleagues and students:

  • Stefan Steiner and co-authors, awarded the 2014 Lloyd Nelson Award from the American Society for Quality - Statistics Division. This award recognizes the Journal of Quality Technology article of greatest immediate impact to practitioners.  
  • Jaemyung Kim, Ken Salem, Khuzaima Daudjee, Ashraf Aboulnaga and Xin Pan, awarded best paper at the 2015 ACM Symposium on Cloud Computing.  
  • Zhengyu Gu (who earned a perfect score), Chun Ho Lau, Anqi (Joyce) Yang and Anotnio Molina Lovett were the top-performing students in the 15th annual Small c Mathematics Competition. Special thanks to contest organizer J.P. Pretti.
  • The Waterloo iGEM team’s project was awarded gold medal standing at this year's Jamboree in Boston. Among over 260 international, multidisciplinary teams, the Waterloo team was also nominated for best overgrad foundational advance project and received two special awards: best poster overgrad and best software tool overgrad.

Finally, October brings convocation at which Robert Tarjan will receive an honourary degree and address our graduates. 

Stephen Watt, Dean

Faculty of Mathematics
University of Waterloo

Stephen Watt