Information for

You are here

Strategic Plan 2018

Strategic Planning

The current Faculty of Mathematics strategic plan is nearing its end and Dean of Mathematics, Stephen Watt, has initiated a broadly consultative, data-informed process to develop the next strategic plan for the Faculty of Mathematics.  

Development of the strategic plan will be guided by the Mathematics Strategic Planning Committee, informed by input from our internal and external community members and by information about the Faculty and our current context. Community members are invited to provide input through our strategic plan consultation opportunities. For information on building our strategic plan, please read through our background information document (PDF).

The plan will align with the Faculty’s mission and values and will seek to move the Faculty forward in its vision to be a world leader in mathematics, statistics, and computer science.

Process and Timelines

Strategic Planning Process Timeline

For more detailed information about the planning process, please contact Martha Foulds, Director of Planning.

Mathematics Strategic Planning Committee (MSPC)

Title Name Role
Dean of Mathematics Stephen M. Watt Chair

Vice Dean, Faculty of Mathematics

Kevin Hare Member

Associate Dean, Admissions and Outreach

Serge D'Alessio Member
Associate Dean, Computing Stephen Vavasis Member
Associate Dean, Cooperative Education Lori Case Member
Associate Dean, Graduate Studies Christiane Lemieux Member
Associate Dean, Research Raouf Boutaba Member
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies Francis Poulin Member
Chair, Applied Mathematics Siv Sivaloganathan Member
Chair, Combinatorics and Optimization Jochen Koenemann Member
Chair, Pure Mathematics Kathryn Hare Member
Acting Director, Centre for Education in Mathematics and Computing J.P. Pretti Member
Director, Computational Mathematics Jeff Orchard Member
Director, David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science Mark Giesbrecht Member
Director, Mathematics, Business, and Accounting Programs Ilham Akhundov Member
Executive Officer Jack Rehder Member
Mathematics Teaching Fellow Brian Forrest Member
Director, Planning Martha Foulds Resource
Director, Advancement Candace Harrington Advisor
Director, Strategic Communications Jodi Szimanski Advisor
Faculty Financial Officer Udaya Wettasinghe Advisor

Past members (prior to September 1, 2017)

Title Name
Amy Aldous Former Director, Communications and Research Alliances
Barry Ferguson Former Associate Dean, Cooperative Education
Steve Furino Former Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies
Srinivasan Keshav Former Associate Dean, Graduate Studies
Marek Stastna Former Associate Dean, Computing
Ian VanderBrugh Former Director, Centre for Education in Mathematics and Computing (on sabbatical)
Ingrid Town Former Director, Advancement

For information about the Faculty of Mathematics 2012-2017 Strategic Plan please visit: