THIS SITE

Information for

Faculty profiles

Fathy Ismail

Fathy Ismail

Interim Department Chair; Professor, PEng.

Contact Information

 

Education

BASc (Alexandria, Egypt) MASc (Alexandria, Egypt) PhD (McMaster)

Research Interests

Modelling, monitoring and control of machining chatter Developing new strategies for efficient and faster machining of sculptured surfaces
Adrian Gerlich

Adrian Gerlich

Industrial Research Chair, Associate Professor, PEng, Welding & Joint Specialization Coordinator

Contact Information

Email: adrian.gerlich@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x38560 Location: E5 3036 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Additional Information

Oscar Nespoli

Oscar Nespoli

Continuing Lecturer, PEng

Contact Information

Email: oscar.nespoli@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4420 or x84420 Location: E5 3037

Biography Summary

John Wright

John Wright

Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: john.wright@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x36849 Location: ERC 3007 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Education

BASc, MASc, PhD (Waterloo)

Research Interests

Activities include most aspects of fenestration technology
David A. Torvi

David A. Torvi

Adjunct Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: dtorvi@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 306 966-5493 Fax: 306 966-5427

Additional Information

Contact webpage: http://www.engr.usask.ca/departments/mee

Education

Omar M. Ramahi

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Contact Information:

Email: omar.ramahi@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x37460 Location: EIT 4154 Fax: 519 746 3077

Education

Ph.D, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign M.S. Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign B.S., Electrical and Computer Engineering, Oregon State University B.S., Mathematics, Oregon State University

Research Interests

Hamid Jahed

Hamid Jahed

Associate Chair, Graduate Studies; Professor, PEng

Contact Information

  Email: hjahed@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x37826 Location: E5 3029 & E2 2354G
Gregory Glinka

Gregory Glinka

Professor

Contact Information

Email: gggreg@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x33339 Location: E5 3048 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Biography Summary

Grzegorz (Gregory) Glinka is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering at the University of Waterloo.

Patricia M. Nieva

Patricia M. Nieva

Deputy Chair; Associate Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: pnieva@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x37786 Location: E3 4106 Fax: (519) 888-4333

Biography Summary

Patricia Nieva is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering at the University of Waterloo.

Serhiy Yarusevych

Serhiy Yarusevych

Associate Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: syarus@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x35442 Location: E5 3013 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Education

Ph.D University of Toronto M.A.Sc University of Toronto B.Eng National Technical University of Ukraine
Laura Turbini portrait

Laura J. Turbini

Adjunct Professor

Contact Information

Email: ljturbini@sympatico.ca Phone: 519 886 9076  

Education

PhD Inorganic Chemistry, Cornell University MS Inorganic Chemistry, Cornell University AB Regis College, Weston MA

Ting Tsui

Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering

Contact Information

Email: tttsui@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x38404 Location: C2 079

Education

PhD, Rice University MSc, Rice University BSc, Clemson University

Research Interests

Nanoindentation Sub-micron fabrication Nanomechanics Thin Film Delaminations Small scale mechanical properties in extreme environments

Teaching

NE 318 CHE 241 CHE 750
Gordon Stubley

Gordon Stubley

Associate Dean, Teaching; Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: stubley@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x32875 Location: CPH 3677 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Education

BASc (Waterloo) MASc (Stanford) PhD (Waterloo)

Research Interests

Carolyn Hansson

Carolyn Hansson

Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: chansson@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4538 or x84538 Location: E5 3042 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Additional Information

Research Affiliations
- Cross Appointed to the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
William Owen

William Owen

Lecturer, PEng

Contact Information

Email: bowen@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x33334 Location: CPH 1325H Fax: (519) 885-5862

Education

PhD, University of Toronto MASc, University of British Columbia BASc, University of British Columbia

Research Interests

Mustafa Yavuz

Mustafa Yavuz

Professor

Contact Information

Email: myavuz@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x32093 Location: E5 3011 Fax: (519) 885-5862 Cross-appointments: Electrical and Computer Engineering, Systems Design Engineering    
John M. Watts

John M. Watts

Director, Fire Safety Institute

Contact Information

Email: jack@firesafetyinstitute.org Phone: 802 462-2663 Fax: 802 462-2663

Education

PhD Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, University of Massachusetts, 1978 MS Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, University of Massachusetts, 1972

David Wang

Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Contact Information

Email: dwang@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x33968 Location: E3 4108

Education

PhD, University of Waterloo, 1989 MSc, University of Waterloo, 1986 BSc, University of Saskatchewan, 1984

Research Interests

Haptics Robotics Nonlinear Control

Teaching

MATH 213 ECE 100A ECE 682

Selected/Recent Publications

John T.W. Yeow

Associate Professor, Systems Design Engineering

Contact Information

Email: jyeow@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x32152 Location: E3 3159

Education

Ph.D., Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, University of Toronto M.A.Sc., Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, University of Toronto B.A.Sc., Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Toronto

Research Interests

Micro/Nano sensors and actuators
Dean of Engineering; Professor, PEng

Pearl Sullivan

Dean of Engineering; Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: engdean@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4522 or x84522 Location: CPH 4301C Fax: (519) 888-4351  

Education

Kaan A. Inal

Kaan A. Inal

Associate Professor

Contact Information

Email: kinal@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x38114 Location: EC4 1103 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Education

MASc, PhD University of Sherbrooke

Research Interests

Metal Formability Micromechanics, Crystal Plasticity
Sean D. Peterson

Sean D. Peterson

Associate Professor, PEng

Contact Information

Email: peterson@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x38722 Location: ERC 3007 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Education

PhD Purdue University (2006) MASc Purdue University (2001) BSc (Eng) Arizona State University (1998)
Norman Y. Zhou

Norman Y. Zhou

Professor, PEng, Canada Research Chair in Microjoining

Contact Information

Email: nzhou@uwaterloo.ca Phone: 519-888-4567 x36095 Location: E5 3007 Fax: (519) 885-5862

Biography Summary

Zbigniew (Zbig) Wronski

Adjunct Professor

Contact Information

Email: zwronski@nrcan.gc.ca Phone: 613 992 0160 Fax: 613 943 0127

Education

MASc University of Warsaw Chemistry. 1972 PhD Warsaw University of Technology Materials Science & Engineering. 1980 Post Doctoral studies University of Manitoba Physics. 1980-1982 Post Doctoral studies Université de Montréal Physics 1982-1984

Research Interests

Mechanochemistry

Ken G. Adams

Professor Emeritus, Adjunct, PEng

Contact Information 

kgadams@mecheng1.uwaterloo.ca

Education

BSc (Queen’s, Kingston) MASc, PhD (Waterloo)

Pages