Information for

Canadian Optometry conference on vision science

December ​7–9, 2007

Join us as the University of Waterloo School of Optometry and Université de Montréal École d'Optométrie commemorate the 50th anniversary of the University of Waterloo, the 40th anniversary of the University of Waterloo School of Optometry, and the start of the Université de Montréal École d´Optométrie centennial year.

The conference is free; the only fee is for the Saturday dinner and dance (grad students excepted).


Full schedule

Friday, December 7

Saturday, December 8

  • Talks and posters at the Delta Kitchener-Waterloo (see Maps below)
  • Evening: School of Optometry Annual Holiday Dinner & Dance with Lost Faculties band at the Delta

Sunday, December 9

  • Morning talks and lunch at the School of Optometry (see Maps below)

Invited speakers

Further details will be posted here as they become available.


We will be booking rooms at the Delta as per instructions on the registration form. If booking at the Delta on your own behalf, mention that it is for the Canadian Optometry Conference on Vision Science.

Here’s some links to get you started:

Area attractions


Delta Kitchener-Waterloo

Waterloo Inn

  • Accommodations
  • 475 King Street North, Waterloo Ontario N2J 2Z5
  • In north Waterloo, not far from the School
  • Off King Street North, near the Parkway
  • There is a little side street off King that also has a car dealership
  • Also accessible from Weber Street North

Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery

University of Waterloo School of Optometry

  • Sunday Conference and Tours
  • There is no official address to the Optometry building, however, we are located at approximately 198 Columbia Street West, Waterloo Ontario
  • We are on the North Campus; the School's entrance is off Columbia (on the north side)


  • Advanced Medical Optics
  • B & H Optical Canada Inc.
  • C & C Optical Laboratories Inc.
  • Centre for Contact Lens Research
  • Essilor Canada
  • Heidelberg
  • Innova Medical Ophthalmics, Inc.
  • Pacific Medical Technologies Inc. 
  • Topcon Canada Inc.
  • Alcon Laboratories Inc.
  • Bausch & Lomb
  • Centennial Optical Limited
  • CIBA Vision
  • Coopervision Inc.
  • Faculty of Science, University of Waterloo
  • Hoya Vision Care - Canada
  • Johnson & Johnson Vision Care
  • Opal Optical Ltd.
  • TLC University of Waterloo
  • Vasogen Inc

Conference contact

Elizabeth Reidt
Professional Services Coordinator
School of Optometry
University of Waterloo
Waterloo ON  N2L 3G1
519-888-4567 Ext. 33177
Fax 519-725-0784