NSERC invests more than $2.8 million in Waterloo physicists pushing the boundaries of knowledge

Monday, June 22, 2015

More than 43 researchers from Waterloo Science are part of the 3,800 Canadian researchers receiving funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) today.

The announcement was made this morning at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology by the Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology).

A key pillar of our government’s updated Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy is ensuring Canada develops, attracts and retains the world’s most talented researchers,” said the Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology).

This funding supports transformational research spanning the sciences and all departments and schools within Science. It will help Waterloo scientists as they make new discoveries in science and engineering that push the boundaries of knowledge, create jobs, opportunities and improve the quality of life of Canadians.

Waterloo Department of Physics and Astronomy Discovery Grant recipients include:

Assistant Professor and Perimeter Institute member Niayesh Afshordi  - Novel Astrophysical Windows into Fundamental Physics

Adjunct Professor and Perimeter Institute member - Asimina Arvanitaki  - Fundamental Physics with and without Colliders

Professor Melanie Campbell (also cross appointed to the School of Optometry and Vision Science) - Optical blur on the retina of eye

Department Chair Jeff Chen - Theoretical study of soft matter systems

Assistant Professor and IQC member Kyung Soo Choi - Extreme quantum nonlinear optics with strongly coupled atoms and photons

Associate Professor and IQC member Thomas Jennewein - Quantum photonics devices for quantum communications

Adjunct Professor and Perimeter Institute member David Kubiznak - Black hole physics: hidden symmetries, thermodynamic analogies, and analogue gravity systems

Associate Professor Jan Kycia - Studying Quantum Materials and Devices at Low Temperatures

Professor Robert Mann - Spacetime Curvature and Quantum Information

Adjunct Professor and Perimeter Institute member Lee Smolin - Dynamics and phenomenology of quantum gravity

Adjunct Professor and Perimeter Institute member Philip Schuster - New Frontiers of Fundamental Forces and Matter

Adjunct Professor and Perimeter Institute member Pedro Vieira - The Integrable Chromodynamic Flux Tube

NSERC’s Discovery Grants Program is our flagship. It invests in the full range of science and engineering disciplines and thus builds the strong foundation that is a necessary prerequisite for innovation,” said B. Mario Pinto, President, NSERC.

Additionally, three Waterloo physicists received NSERC grants to support research tools and instrumentation. They are: Kyung Soo Choi, Adrian Lupascu and Vadim Makarov.

The Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarships and the NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships and Postdoctoral Fellowships, which provide financial support to high calibre scholars engaged in a doctoral program in the natural sciences or engineering, were also announced today.

Graduate students Michael and Olivia Di Matteo received the Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarship. Jean-Philippe MacLean and Keith Ng received the NSERCPostgraduate Scholarship.

The awards announced today are the results of the 2015 competition for NSERC’s Discovery GrantsDiscovery Accelerator SupplementsDiscovery Development GrantsAlexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate ScholarshipsPostgraduate Scholarships, Postdoctoral Fellowships, and Research Tools and Instruments Grants.

  1. 2023 (9)
    1. March (4)
    2. February (3)
    3. January (2)
  2. 2022 (29)
    1. November (8)
    2. October (1)
    3. September (1)
    4. August (2)
    5. July (3)
    6. June (1)
    7. May (5)
    8. April (5)
    9. March (2)
    10. January (1)
  3. 2021 (34)
    1. December (1)
    2. November (2)
    3. October (2)
    4. September (4)
    5. August (3)
    6. July (5)
    7. June (2)
    8. May (5)
    9. April (1)
    10. March (2)
    11. February (2)
    12. January (5)
  4. 2020 (22)
  5. 2019 (14)
  6. 2018 (15)
  7. 2017 (19)
  8. 2016 (22)
  9. 2015 (30)
  10. 2014 (12)
  11. 2013 (7)
  12. 2012 (9)
  13. 2011 (3)
  14. 2010 (6)
  15. 2009 (1)