You are here

People profiles

Jeff Chen

Jeff Chen

Department Chair and Professor

Office: PHY 261/367

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 35361

Email: jeffchen@uwaterloo.ca

Michael Balogh

Associate Professor and Associate Chair

Office: PHY 264/254

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 37518

Email: mbalogh@uwaterloo.ca

Brian McNamara

Brian McNamara

Professor, University Research Chair in Astrophysics, Director, GWPI

Office: PHY 253
Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 38170
Email: mcnamara@uwaterloo.ca

Niayesh Afshordi

Niayesh Afshordi

Assistant Professor

I dabble in Astrophysics, Cosmology, and Physics of gravity. I am obsessed with observational hints that could help address problems in fundamental physics.

Kostadinka Bizheva

Associate Professor

My research focuses on the development of novel optical imaging technology (Optical Coherence Tomography - OCT) that can be used in clinics to image various part of the human body for diagnostic purposes or for monitoring the outcome of drug therapy or surgery.

Anton Burkov

Anton Burkov

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 258

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 36901

Email: aburkov@uwaterloo.ca

Melanie Campbell

Melanie Campbell

Professor

Office: PHY 353

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 36273

Email: mcampbel@uwaterloo.ca 

Walter Duley

Walter Duley

Professor

Office: PHY 249

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 33108

Email: wwduley@uwaterloo.ca

Michel Fich

Michel Fich

Professor

Office: PHY 255

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32725

Email: fich@uwaterloo.ca

photo of James Forrest

James Forrest

Professor

Office: PHY 360

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32161

Email: jforrest@uwaterloo.ca

Photograph of Michel Gingras

Michel Gingras

Professor and Canada Research Chair in Condensed Matter Physics & Statistical Mechanics

My main current interests are in the field of theoretical condensed matter physics, with a focus on systems with random disorder, as well as strongly correlated classical and quantum condensed matter systems subject to strongly competing, or frustrated, interactions.

Michael Hudson

Michael Hudson

Professor and Associate Dean of Science, Computing

Office: PHY 252

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32212

Email: mike.hudson@uwaterloo.ca

Bae-Yeun Ha

Bae-Yeun Ha

Professor

Office: PHY 372

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 37004

Email: byha@uwaterloo.ca

David Hawthorn

David Hawthorn

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 359

Lab: PHY 113, 114

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 38589

Email: dhawthor@uwaterloo.ca

Robert Hill

Robert Hill

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Graduate Studies, Faculty of Science

Office: PHY 248
Phone: X 36844
Lab: PHY 130/333
Lab phone: X 32166

Email: robhill@uwaterloo.ca

Stefan Idziak

Stefan Idziak

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 250

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 35580

Email: idziak@uwaterloo.ca

Thomas Jennewein

Thomas Jennewein

Associate Professor

Office: RAC 2111

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 37485

Email: tjennewe@iqc.ca

Website: https://services.iqc.uwaterloo.ca/people/profile/tjennewe/

Jan Kycia

Jan Kycia

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 373

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 35177

Email: jkycia@uwaterloo.ca

Raymond Laflamme

Raymond Laflamme

Professor, Canada Research Chair in Quantum Computing, Executive Director of IQC

Office: RAC 1111

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32430

Email: laflamme@uwaterloo.ca

Yuri Leonenko

Yuri Leonenko

Assistant Professor

Office: PHY 370

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32160

Email: leonenko@uwaterloo.ca

Zoya Leonenko

Zoya Leonenko

Professor

Office: PHY 354

Lab: PHY 335

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 38273

Wing-Ki Liu

Wing-Ki Liu

Professor

Office: PHY 371

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 36280

Email: wkliu@uwaterloo.ca

Qing-Bin Lu

Qing-Bin Lu

Professor

Office: PHY 376

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 33503

Email: qblu@uwaterloo.ca

Adrian Lupascu

Adrian Lupascu

Associate Professor

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 35468

Email: alupascu@uwaterloo.ca

Norbert Lütkenhaus

Norbert Lütkenhaus

Professor

Office: RAC 1119

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32870

Email: lutkenhaus.office@uwaterloo.ca

Robert Mann

Robert Mann

Professor

I work in on gravitation, quantum physics, and the overlap between these two subjects.  I am interested in questions that provide us with information about the foundations of physics, particularly those that could be tested by experiment.  I have a lively and energetic research group of about 10 graduate and undergraduate students, where we address a number of interesting questions in physics, such as

James Martin

James Martin

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 357

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 33201

Email: jddmarti@uwaterloo.ca 

photograph of Roger Melko

Roger Melko

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 368

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 38406

Email: rgmelko@uwaterloo.ca

Hartwig Peemoeller

Hartwig Peemoeller

Professor

Office: PHY 366
Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32633
Email: peemoell@uwaterloo.ca

Kevin Resch

Kevin Resch

Assistant Professor

Office: QNC 3127

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 38205

Email: kresch@iqc.ca

Joseph Sanderson

Joseph Sanderson

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 361

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 36109

Email: j3sander@uwaterloo.ca

Website: Femtosecond Laser Lab

Gunter Scholz

Gunter Scholz

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 358

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32213

Email: scholz@uwaterloo.ca

Donna Strickland

Donna Strickland

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 257, 264

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32724

Email: strickla@uwaterloo.ca

James Taylor

James Taylor

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 256

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 38115

Email: taylor@uwaterloo.ca

Russell Thompson

Russell Thompson

Associate Professor

Office: PHY 355

Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32219

Email: thompson@uwaterloo.ca

Profiles by type