Visit our Coronavirus Information website for more information.

Reporting Structure

Positions reporting to the President

Vice-President, Academic & Provost (James Rush)

The Vice-President, Academic is responsible for overseeing and upholding policies and for maintaining the intellectual quality of the university. In particular, the Vice President Academic should foster an environment which promotes excellence in teaching and research, and shall work with the Graduate and Faculty Deans and other senior officers to develop long-term academic goals. The Vice President Academic also serves as Vice-Chair of Senate. The Provost carries operational and budgetary authority and responsibility for the day-to-day operation of the university. The scope of the Provost's responsibilities will be defined by the President.

Vice-President, Administration & Finance (Dennis Huber)

The Vice-President, Administration & Finance oversees the management of the University’s financial and physical resources, procurement and logistics, parking services, and real estate development including the Research + Technology Park.

Vice-President, Advancement (Joanne Shoveller)

The Vice-President, Advancement is responsible for planning, implementing and overseeing fundraising and alumni relations.  The VP Advancement provides leadership in developing strategic partnerships and securing public, private and philanthropic funding for the institution in support of institutional academic, research and service priorities and is conducted in partnership with each of its faculties.

Vice-President, University Relations (Sandra Banks)

The Vice-President, University Relations is responsible for the offices of Marketing and Strategic Initiatives, University Communications, Government Relations and Community Relations and Events. These departments work collaboratively to share the university's mission, goals, objectives, stories and results with its stakeholders.

Vice-President, University Research (Charmaine B. Dean)

The Office of Research provides a comprehensive set of services in support of faculty research activities, and strives to provide a supportive research climate for faculty, students and staff. Responsible for the University of Waterloo’s strategic research plan.

University Secretary (Karen Jack)

The department, under the leadership of and with the active participation of the Secretary of the university, provides essential secretarial and administrative support for the governing bodies (Senate and Board of Governors and their committees/councils) and for other university wide committees (standing and ad hoc), task forces, and entities which are not subsets of Senate or Board.