News archive - 2013

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Ken Davidson and Alex Wright win G. de B. Robinson Award

Congratulations to Ken Davidson and Pure Math alumnus, Alex Wright, for winning the Canadian Mathematical Society 2013 G. de B. Robinson Award! The full news release from the Canadian Mathematical Society follows.

"The CMS is pleased to announce that Kenneth Davidson (Waterloo) and Alex Wright (University of Chicago) are the recipients of the 2013 G. de B. Robinson Award for their paper "Operator algebras with unique preduals," published in the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB) (54:3 2011, 411-421).

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Jason Bell appointed as University Research Chair

Congratulations to Jason Bell for his appointment as a University Research Chair. Established in 2003, the University Research Chair program "recognizes exceptional achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge." Please see for more information on the program as well as current and past holders of University Research Chairs.

Friday, July 19, 2013

Ken Davidson honoured at Spring Convocation

On Friday, June 14, 2013, Ken Davidson received the Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision at the morning convocation ceremony. The award was established by the Graduate Studies Office in collaboration with the Graduate Student Association to recognize exemplary faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in graduate student supervision. Congratulations, Ken!

Friday, July 5, 2013

Yu-Ru Liu wins teaching award

Congratulations goes out to Yu-Ru Liu for winning the 2013 Faculty of Mathematics Award for Distinction in Teaching. Yu-Ru's accomplishment will be recognized at the Fall Faculty Banquet.

The other recipient of this year's award also has a tie to Pure Mathematics – Dan Wolczuk completed his MMath degree in Pure Mathematics in 2003. Congratulations to both Yu-Ru and Dan!

For more information, please see Award for Distinction in Teaching - 2013 winners.

Thursday, July 4, 2013

Collin Roberts participates in Three-Minute Thesis challenge

This marked the first year that Waterloo participated in the Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition and PhD student, Collin Roberts, stepped up to the challenge. Check his presentation out here: