University COVID-19 update

The University of Waterloo is constantly updating our most Frequently Asked Questions.

Questions about buildings and services? Visit the list of Modified Services.

Please note: The University of Waterloo is closed for all events until further notice.

News archive - 2014

Monday, October 27, 2014

Jason Bell presents distinguished lecture in Colorado

Pure Math Professor Jason Bell recently visited the University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, to present a distinguished lecture on game theory. Check out his press in a recent edition of Communique, the University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, news publication.

Friday, September 26, 2014

Appointment at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for Sobhan Seyfaddini

Sobhan Seyfaddini, BMath 2006, completed his PhD at Berkeley in 2012.
After a one-year postdoctoral fellowship at Ecole Normale Superieure in
Paris, he is now a C.L.E. Moore Instructor and NSF postdoctoral fellow
at M.I.T. He works in symplectic geometry.

Monday, July 28, 2014

Sabin Cautis wins 2014 André Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize

Sabin Cautis, who graduated with an Honours BMath degree in Pure Mathematics from University of Waterloo in 2001, has been awarded the 2014 André Aisenstadt Prize by the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM). The prize "recognizes outstanding research achievements in pure or applied mathematics by a young Canadian mathematician". Sabin is an assistant professor in Mathematics at the University of British Columbia.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Pure Math hosts 2013 Ostrowski Prize presentation

The Department of Pure Mathematics hosted the 2013 Ostrowski Prize presentation on June 10 and 11, 2014. The prize was awarded to Yitang (Tom) Zhang from the University of New Hampshire who presented a lecture on his work on small gaps between prime numbers and was subsequently honored at the prize ceremony.

Yitang (Tom) Zhang

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Alex Wright wins Clay Research Fellowship

Alex Wright, who graduated with a degree in Pure Math from University of Waterloo in 2008, has just completed his PhD at U. Chicago and has won a prestigious Clay Research Fellowship. See