News archive - 2022

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Kathryn Hare named Distinguished Professor Emerita

Kathryn Hare

Kathryn Hare from the Department of Pure Mathematics has been named Distinguished Professor Emerita in recognition of her storied career at Waterloo.

Hare has been a mainstay in Pure Math since 1988 when she first took up a role as an assistant professor. She had previously attended Waterloo as an undergraduate student, completing a BMath in 1981.

Friday, May 20, 2022

William Slofstra awarded University Research Chair

William Slofstra

A researcher in the Department of Pure Mathematics is among the latest winners of a University Research Chair.

Awarded by the Office of the Provost, a University Research Chair recognizes exceptional achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge.

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Patrick Naylor wins Mathematics Doctoral Prize

Patrick Naylor

Patrick Naylor, who recently completed a PhD in the Department of Pure Mathematics, has won first place in the 2022 Mathematics Doctoral Prize.