News for Current students

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Chasing a dream

Josué Kurke

“While working as an instructional support assistant (ISA), I remember the first time a professor asked for a volunteer to teach a lecture while he was at a conference,” remembers Josué Kurke. “My hand shot up. I donned a professorial kind of jacket with the elbow patches and went all out. Over time, I’ve realized that I feel most at home in front of a classroom. I want to spend my career talking to people about math.”

Learn more about this student studying Pure Mathematics and Combinatorics & Optimization.

Friday, July 3, 2020

William Slofstra wins 2020 Faculty of Mathematics Golden Jubilee Research Excellence Award

William Slofstra

Pure Mathematics Professor William Slofstra has received a 2020 Faculty of Mathematics Golden Jubilee Research Excellence Award.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Kathryn Hare named CMS Fellow

Kathryn Hare

The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) has recognized Professor Kathryn Hare as part of the Third Inaugural Class of Fellows.

One of nine women named a CMS Fellow, Hare has been a faculty member in the Department of Pure Mathematics since 1988. Since that time, she has received several honours and awards including:

Thursday, June 11, 2020

I don’t want to be a doctor of medicine. I want to be a doctor of mathematics.

Jose Luiz Avilez

Early in his second year of medical school, Jose Luiz Avilez realized he wanted something different than medical school could offer. In his heart, he knew he wanted to study mathematics. It was a difficult decision, but by 2016 he was applying to universities.

“A friend of mine who studied at Waterloo told me about its program in Mathematical Finance and that it has a co-op program,” remembered Avilez. “I was sold.”

Learn more about Avilez's experience.

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Wanchun (Rosie) Shen awarded 2020 Jessie W.H. Zou Memorial Award

Wanchun Shen by a frozen river

Wanchun (Rosie) Shen, a pure mathematics major at the University of Waterloo, has been awarded a 2020 Jessie W.H. Zou Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research. Shen has focused much of her work on the multifractal analysis of self-similar measures of finite type.