You are here


Xiaopan Mao 

I am Xiaopan Mao. For my undergraduate study, I spent first two years in Jiangsu University in China and my last two years, I studied at Wilfrid Laurier University, both majored Photonics. Afterwards, I pursued my study in Physics in University of Waterloo under the supervision of Dr. David Hawthorn. My current research is focusing on Surface roughness effect on Inverse Partial Fluorescence Yield (IPFY). This IPFY technique was developed recently by our group. Another research direction of mine is to study Lanthanum based high Tc cuprites about its charge density wave ordering.

Lauren Hayward

Lauren completed her Honours Bachelor of Science degree in Physics and Computer Science in 2011 at the University of Manitoba in her hometown of Winnipeg, MB. Throughout this degree, she did undergraduate research under the supervision of Jason Fiege, Byron Southern and John Page. In 2012, Lauren received her Master's degree in Physics through the Perimeter Scholars International program at the University of Waterloo and the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics. Her Master's research was supervised by Erik Sørensen and involved studying quantum phase transitions in quantum rotor models using numerical simulations. Lauren is currently studying computational condensed matter theory, particularly entanglement entropy and topological order, as a PhD student under the supervision of Roger Melko.

Christopher McMahon

Christopher joined the Hawthorn group in 2010 and has been involved in expanding the experimental capabilities of the group’s lab on the UW campus. In particular, his MSc thesis focused on the design, construction, and commissioning of an inverse photoemission spectrometer and related ultra-high vacuum apparatus. As a PhD candidate, Chris examines the electronic structure of strongly-correlated materials, such as the high-Tcsuperconductors, with emphasis on their previously-unexplored unoccupied states. He has experience performing a variety of experimental techniques, both in Waterloo and at the Canadian Light Source, especially IPES, ARPES, XPS, XAS, RSXS, and PEEM.