

#### AFFILIATED WITH THE UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Members of Renison University College
Wednesday, October 25, 2023 | 6:00 p.m. | Microsoft Teams

### **MINUTES- Open Session- FINAL**

# The minutes were approved at the Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, October 23, 2024.

<u>PRESENT</u>: Asma Al-Wahsh, Jean Becker, Rachel Carey, Ryan Connell, Wendy Fletcher (President), Yaacov Iland (Secretary), Jane Karanassiou, Thomas Littlewood, Tisa Mushani, Edwin Ng, Joseph Olubobokun (Vice-Chair), Jodey Porter, Karen Spencer (Chair), Shumiao Wang (Treasurer), Marita Williams, Jeff Wilson

**REGRETS**: Brian Hendley, Neha Chugh, Ashton Romany

GUESTS: Kayla Blake (KPMG), Cort Egan, Kim Haley (KPMG), Melanie McKellar, Tanya Missere Mihas, Kristiina Montero, Jill Pauls

**RECORDER:** Lisa Kessig

TERRITORIAL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT: With gratitude, we acknowledge that Renison University College is located on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabeg, Hodinohsyó:ni, and Attawandaran (Neutral) Peoples, which is situated on the Haldimand Tract, the land granted to the Six Nations that includes ten kilometres on each side of the Grand River from mouth to source. Our active work toward reconciliation takes place in all corners of our campus through research, learning, teaching, community building and outreach. We are guided by the work of our Reconciliation and Re-storying Steering Committee and Anti-Racism and Decolonization Spokescouncil, as well as the University of Waterloo's Office of Indigenous Relations

- 1. CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME
- 2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT- Karen Spencer
- 3. CHANCELLOR INTRODUCTION & REMARKS

Welcome to 11<sup>th</sup> Chancellor Jodey Porter.

4. AGENDA APPROVAL

MOVED by Yaacov Iland to approve the agenda; SECONDED by Joseph Olubobokun.

**CARRIED.** 

5. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES – October 26, 2022

MOVED by Ryan Connell to approve the AGM minutes from October 26, 2022; SECONDED by Jean Becker.

CARRIED.

6. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

None.

7. REPORT OF THE CHAIR— Karen Spencer

Members were invited to access Renison's Annual Report through the link provided.

The Chair welcomed new Chancellor Jodey Porter and acknowledged outgoing Chancellor Manfred Conrad.

Appreciation to President Wendy Fletcher for her steadfast leadership and hard working leadership team members. Through had challenges, Faculty, Staff, and Students have experienced and embraced change.

8. REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT- Wendy Fletcher

Appreciation to members as we acknowledge challenges and celebrate accomplishments. It takes a whole community to care for Renison: Senior Leadership team, Staff, Faculty, and Students.

Renison is doing okay but has not returned to the glory days of our former self. There are changes in higher education leading to decreased interest in Arts. Renison is working to adapt with integrity and creativity, while paying attention to our mission.

## 9. REPORT OF THE TREASURER- Shumiao Wang

Revenues have increased by \$2.1M from the benefit of having a full year with students in residence, plus an increase in Food Service sales. The previous year, Renison had assistance from UW to manage the debt. There will be hard work to manage independently without their assistance.

Appreciation to the Auditors from KPMG who attended the meeting to answer any questions. Thank you to Jill and the Finance team, Wendy, Karen, and members of the Budget Sub-Committee for their work managing Renison's financials.

MOVED by Yaacov Iland to ratify the audited financial statements for YE April 30, 2023; SECONDED by Jean Becker.

CARRIED.

MOVED by Ryan Connell to reappoint KPMG as the auditors for the 2023-2024 fiscal year; **SECONDED by Jane Karanassiou.**CARRIED.

The Auditors exited the meeting.

## 10. REPORT OF THE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE CHAIR- Thomas Littlewood

MOVED by Thomas Littlewood to ratify the bylaw amendments as circulated; SECONDED by Joseph Olubobokun.

CARRIED.

The Bylaws are scheduled to be reviewed again in 2026. The Governance Policies are to be reviewed next.

**MOVED by Thomas Littlewood** to ratify the membership of Fei Wei and Eliana Suarez who were elected as Board members at the September 27, 2023 Board meeting for a 3-year term beginning January 1, 2024; **SECONDED by Jean Becker. CARRIED.** 

**MOVED by Thomas Littlewood** to elect Karen Spencer to serve another 1-year term as Board Chair beginning January 1, 2024; **SECONDED by Yaacov Iland. CARRIED.** 

#### 11. ADJOURNMENT

MOVED by Thomas Littlewood to adjourn the 2023 AGM; SECONDED by Jean Becker. CARRIED.



Yaacov Iland Secretary, Board of Governors