

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Members of Renison University College
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 | 5:30 p.m. | DFL- REN 1303

MINUTES- Open Session- FINAL The minutes were approved at the AGM on October 21, 2020.

<u>PRESENT</u>: Robert Case, Samantha Chan, Ryan Connell, Manfred Conrad, Wendy Fletcher (President), The Reverend Canon Matthew Griffin (Chair), Brian Hendley (Vice-Chair), The Reverend Matthew Kieswetter, Jazlin Nicholas, Peter Ringrose, Peter Roe, Karen Spencer, Frances Tse, Rosita Tse, Jim Walker, Hanqing Wu

REGRETS: Keith Hipel (Secretary), The Most Rev'd Colin Johnson (Interim Visitor), May Yan (Treasurer)

<u>GUESTS</u>: Alana Aird, Kofi Campbell, Megan Collings-Moore, Asnake Dabala, Cort Egan, Kim Haley, Yaacov Iland, Ashton Romany, Hanneke

Smolders, Liz Vitek
RECORDER: Lisa Kessig

TERRITORIAL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT: Renison University College acknowledges that we live and work on the traditional territory of the Attawandaron (Neutral), Anishinaabeg, and Haudenosaunee peoples. The University of Waterloo is situated on the Haldimand Tract, the land promised to the Six Nations that includes ten kilometers on each side of the Grand River.

1. CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME – The Rev. Canon Matthew Griffin

Matthew Griffin welcomed members and guests and confirmed that the meeting was in accordance with the Corporations Act requirement that all not-for-profit organizations hold an Annual General Meeting within six months following the end of the fiscal year, which was April 30, 2019.

The Chair requested the addition of the Appointment of the Board Chair under item 7.

Board members were asked to stay following the adjournment of the AGM for a separate meeting of the Board of Governors with an in-camera session.

Megan Collings-Moore offered the opening prayer.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

MOVED by Ryan Connell to approve the minutes from the AGM of October 24, 2018; SECONDED by Peter Roe.

CARRIED.

3. REPORT OF THE CHAIR— The Rev. Canon Matthew Griffin

Peter Roe was invited to provide an update on Board member Keith Hipel. Dr. Hipel remains in hospital but reports that he is on the road to recovery. He sends greetings to members of the Board and gratitude for the flowers that were sent.

5. REPORT OF THE TREASURER- Hanneke Smolders

Hanneke Smolders, CFO provided the report in place of Board Treasurer May Yan who was out of the country. During the fiscal year, capital assets increased including the completion of the new parking lot at a cost of \$828,000. As well, a portion of the 3rd floor academic Centre construction expenses were recorded in the previous year due to timing of work completed and subsequently billed. There was a net surplus of \$659,000. Tuition for the degree side increased primarily including in the School of Social Work area. The non-degree area also experienced an increase due to higher student enrolment numbers. The increase in interest income can be

attributed to the change in banking providers. From the statement of net assets, the surplus was allocated to internally restricted funds (\$554,000) and \$240,000 to the capital reserve fund.

MOVED by Wendy Fletcher to adopt the audited financial statements for fiscal year end April 30, 2019; SECONDED by Matthew Kieswetter.

CARRIED.

On behalf of the Board, the Chair expressed appreciation to the Auditors from KPMG and offered congratulations to CFO Hanneke Smolders and her team for a clean audit.

6. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS FOR 2019-2020

MOVED by Rosita Tse to appoint KPMG as the auditors for the 2019-2020 fiscal year and authorize the 2% fee increase as per the RFP; **SECONDED by Manfred Conrad. CARRIED.**

7. RATIFICATION OF BY-LAW AMENDMENT

The proposal to reduce the number of student seats on the Board from two to one will not go forward.

The number of Board members will increase from eighteen to nineteen. This will be revised in section 4.1.

MOVED by Peter Ringrose to ratify the By-Laws as approved by the Board of Governors at the meeting on September 25 with the proposed change to section 4.1 updating the number of Board members from 18 to 19; SECONDED by Peter Roe.

CARRIED.

Peter Ringrose noted that the Academic Council by-law draft is in progress and will be shared with the faculty group in the coming weeks.

ELECTION OF THE BOARD CHAIR 2020-2021

MOVED by Peter Ringrose to appoint Brian Hendley as Chair of the Board for a two-year term (2020-2021); SECONDED by Jim Walker.

CARRIED.

8. ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Three Board members will vacate their seats of December 31, 2019.

Several recommendations were submitted for consideration to the Governance Committee. There was a total of 6 names submitted for the 3 seats. The Committee reviewed the suggestions and recommended to the Board that Liz Vitek, Yaacov Iland and Ashton Romany be nominated to fill the vacancies on the Board.

Rob Case announced his intention to make a nomination from the floor and proposed that the process for nominating people to Board positions be revisited at a future meeting.

Rob Case nominated Asnake Dabala and confirmed Mr. Dabala's willingness to accept the nomination.

Upon presenting the secret ballots, Matthew Griffin instructed the members to select a total of 3 candidates, record their selections on the ballot then place them in the provided ballot box.

Matthew Kieswetter and Rosita Tse agreed to count the ballots and record the results. The members were in favour. They were escorted to another room to tally the votes.

The Chair extended gratitude to those who were nominated and agreed to have their names stand for a position on the Board.

Following the ballot count, the new Board members were announced as Liz Vitek, Ashton Romany and Yaacov Iland.

9. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Matthew Griffin expressed sincere thanks to the members for their care and diligence as well as the Renison community, faculty, staff, students, and alumni. Deep gratitude to all who seek a vibrant future for Renison.

The AGM adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Following a short recess, the members of the Board were asked to return for an in-camera session meeting of the Board of Governors.

Keith W. Hipel

Secretary, Board of Governors

Lith W. Hind