Renewal of the Tri-Agency financial administration

Renewal of the Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration initiative to change its financial guidelines with the goal of reducing administrative burden for researchers and institutions. The initiative focuses on:

  • moving to a less directive approach for the administration and use of grant funds
  • renewing the Agencies’ approach to financial monitoring reviews, and 
  • increasing the overall effectiveness of the post-award administration of grants.

What's new?

As of December 1, 2019, please refer to the final Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration for the management of research funds. Use this guide in conjunction with corresponding Waterloo policies and guidelines.

Some items are not adequately addressed by current policies and guidelines and require further clarification during this pilot. It is important to note that there is no change in the eligibility of these items at this time. The clarifications are:

Item Eligibility
Home internet Not eligible
Cell phone purchase Not eligible
Cell phone monthly charge Not eligible - although a portion of the monthly charge while travelling on University business and conducting research is eligible
Child care costs during research travel Eligible as per prior Tri-Agency Guide

Changes related to travel claims, justification for computers and office supplies, restrictions to postdoctoral appointments, and leaves have been in place since November 2018 and are outlined below:

If you have questions, please contact Bill Jennings or Leslie Copp.

The three phases of the initiativephases

  • “Principle-based” Guide that promotes efficiencies and reduces administrative burden to administering institutions and grant recipients.
  • Risk–based financial monitoring reviews.
  • Partnering with administering institutions with the objective of increasing effectiveness and reducing burden.
  • Leverage existing institutional financial management policies and controls.
  • Ongoing improvements in the post-award administration of grants.

The following 12 institutions  participating in the initiative:

  • Brock University
  • Cape Breton University
  • Dalhousie University
  • Hospital for Sick Children
  • Laval University
  • McMaster University
  • University of Alberta
  • University of British Columbia
  • Université du Québec à Montréal
  • University of Waterloo
  • Western University
  • York University