News archive - 2016

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Waterloo’s Team Epoch heading to Hult Prize Regionals

Team Epoch members Jade Choy, Scott Forsyth, Lisa Tran, and Keith Choy.

Team Epoch members (left to right) Jade Choy, Scott Forsyth, Lisa Tran and Keith Choy.

Science and Business student Lisa Tran was part of the interdisciplinary team that won the University of Waterloo division of the 2017 Hult Prize Challenge "Reawakening Human Potential".

Thursday, September 8, 2016

Medella Health wins National James Dyson Award; Arylla and Penta Medical named Runners Up

Medella Health, founded by former Science and Business student Harry Gandhi won the National James Dyson Award for developing a contact lens that will revolutionize how diabetics monitor their blood sugar. 

Velocity Science companies Arylla and Penta Medical were named National Runner Ups for their anti-counterfeit nano ink and infrared wearables.

Friday, August 5, 2016

Lani Labs develops Lanibox and web platform to make 3D printing more accessible

The Lanibox will make 3D printing easy for users.

Science and Business alumnus Pablo Eder is determined to make 3D printers easier to use with his company Lani Labs.

Non-frequent 3D printer users might not realize just how complicated the process and technology behind 3D printing is. Users will input anywhere from 10-200 commands to generate a print, and are required to know specifics about slicing software, filament temperature, material, print speed and more.

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Love for 'Eating and Hanging Out' pays off: Meet Cameron Pounder and Ada Mok

Along with her partner Cameron Pounder (BSc ’09, Science & Business), Ada Mok (BA ’08, Psychology) competed on the closely watched season finale of last year’s Food Network reality show, Food Truck Face Off.

By Dana Ciak

Spoiler alert: they won a food truck.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Science and Business student Daniel Zhang part of Waterloo team that won international finance competition

Waterloo celebrates 2016 Global CFA Institute Research Challenge win. Team members (left to right): Adnan Khan, Brent Small, Rudder Zhang, Daniel Zhang and Kamaljot Dhaliwal.

  1. 2022 (1)
    1. August (1)
  2. 2021 (3)
    1. June (1)
    2. April (1)
    3. March (1)
  3. 2020 (4)
    1. December (1)
    2. August (3)
  4. 2019 (3)
  5. 2018 (4)
  6. 2017 (4)
  7. 2016 (10)
    1. December (1)
    2. September (1)
    3. August (1)
    4. June (1)
    5. April (1)
    6. March (2)
    7. January (3)
  8. 2015 (11)
  9. 2014 (1)
  10. 2013 (3)
  11. 2012 (12)