2019 Science Alumni Achievement Awards

Friday, March 6, 2020 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm EST (GMT -05:00)

2019 Alumni Achievement Awards

Robert Lemieux, Dean of the Faculty of Science, cordially invites all faculty, staff, alumni and friends to attend our annual Science Alumni Achievement Awards Reception.

A cherished tradition of celebration since 2007, these awards honour our alumni who have distinguished themselves as outstanding professional and personal achievers in their chosen fields.  These alumni have accomplished admirable levels of success and distinguished service, individual creativity and entrepreneurial spirit within our community of more than 26,000 science alumni worldwide. 

2019 Award Recipients:

Young Alumni Award:

bondy denome headshot

Joseph Bondy-Denomy, BSc '08 (Biology)
Assistant Professor,
Department of Microbiology Immunology,
University of California,
San Francisco, CA

Learn more about Joseph Bondy-Denomy and his accomplishments

Contribution to Science Award:

wang martin headshot

Diana Wang-Martin, BSc '01 (Biochemistry Co-op)
International Baccalaureate MYP Co-ordinator,
STEM Teacher Advisor IB Chemistry Teacher,
Glenforest Secondary School,
Mississauga, ON

Learn more about Diana Wang-Martin and her contributions to science

Distinguished Alumni Award:

headshot brinkman

Fiona Brinkman, BSc '90 (Biochemistry)
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Molecular Biology Biochemistry,
Simon Fraser University,
Burnaby, BC

Learn more about Fiona Brinkman and her achievements

Program of the 2019 Science Alumni Achievement Awards:

3 p.m.          Welcome and opening remarks by Bob Lemieux, Dean of Science
                      and Feridun Hamdullahpur, President and Vice-Chancellor
3:15 p.m.     Award presentations
3:55 p.m.    Concluding remarks by Bob Lemieux
4 p.m.          Reception

Please RSVP your attendance by February 27, 2020 to Bonnie Fretz, Alumni Officer.
We look forward to having you join us as we celebrate our 2019 award recipients